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OPINION

Super Supreme Corp. (“Licensee”) appealed from the
Adjudication and Order of Administrative Law Judge Tania E. Wright
(“ALJ”), wherein the AL] sustained the citation, imposed a two
thousand dollar ($2,000.00) fine, suspended Licensee’s license for one

(1) day, and assessed five (5) points against the license.



The citation charged Licensee with violation of sections
406(a)(2) and 493(16) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §§ 4-
406(a)(2), 4-493(16)] in that, on March 5, 2005, Licensee, by its
servants, agents or employees, sold, furnished, and/or gave alcoholic
beverages between 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m.

Pursuant to section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471],
the appeal in this case must be based solely on the record before the
AL]. The Board shall only reverse the decision of the AL] if the AL]
committed an error of law or abused her discretion, or if her decision
was not based upon substantial evidence. The Commonwealth Court
defined "substantial evidence" to be such relevant evidence as a
reasonable person might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.

Joy Global, Inc. v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Bd. (Hogue), 876

A.2d 1098 (Pa. Cmwith. 2005); Chapman v. Pennsylvania Bd. of

Probation and Parole, 86 Pa. Cmwith. 49, 484 A.2d 413 (1984).

On appeal, Licensee argues that the AL] abused her discretion
and committed an error of law in that fine is unduly harsh and the point

system established by Act 239 of 2004 is unconstitutional.



There is no dispute concerning the facts of this case.! On
Saturday, March 5, 2005, at approximately 2:15 a.m., Philadelphia
Police Officer Fairbanks entered the licensed premises. (Ex. B-3). The
officer ordered and was served one (1) Heineken beer from a
bartender. (Ex. B-3). Additionally, the officer witnessed several
bartenders rendering service to approximately one hundred fifty (150)
patrons in a second floor area. (Ex. B-3)

At approximately 2:30 a.m. on Saturday, March 5, 2005. E.
Mullen, an officer with the Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor
Control Enforcement (“Bureau”) entered the licensed premises as part
of a pre-arranged detail of officers called in by Officer Fairbanks. (Ex.
B-3). Officer Mullen witnessed bartenders rendering service to
approximately one hundred fifty (150) patrons in the second floor bar
area. (Ex. B-3). He observed that the patrons were in possession of
alcoholic beverages and were dancing to hip-hop music. (Ex. B-3).
Officer Mullen conducted a routine inspection of the licensed premises
and provided Mr. Bentley, Licensee’s sole corporate officer, with a

signed copy of the report. (Ex. B-3).

! At the hearing before the AL], Licensee stipulated to the facts underlying the citation and admitted
to violations; however, Licensee preserved all constitutional issues regarding the point system.
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Licensee’s prior citation record reflects that Licensee has received
four (4) citations since 1999. (Ex. B-3). Penalties for those violations
ranged from five hundred dollars ($500.00) to three thousand dollars
($3,000.00), and included a three (3)-day suspension of its license.
(Ex. B-3). Two (2)? of the prior citations contained counts for sales by
Licensee between 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m. (Ex. B-3).

Under Section 471 of the Liquor Code, the Board has no
authority to alter a penalty if it is within the statutory guidelines of the
Liquor Code. [47 P.S. § 4-471]. Section 471 of the Liquor Code
[47 P.S. § 4-471] proscribes the penalty for a violation of section
493(16) as license suspension or revocation and/or a fine of not less
than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) or more than five thousand
dollars ($5,000.00). The AL] in the instant case imposed a two
thousand dollar ($2,000.00) fine and a one (1)-day suspension of
Licensee’s license. The penalty is within the statutory range set forth in
Liquor Code section 471. Because the Board has no authority to alter

the penalty imposed by the AL], the decision of the AL] is affirmed.

2 For one (1) of the two (2) citations, the AL] dismissed the charge of sales by Licensee between
2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m. (Ex. B-3).
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Licensee’s second contention raised on appeal is that Act 239 of
2004 is unconstitutional. The Board is without authority to rule on the

constitutionality of its enabling legislation. Bunch v. Bd. Of Auctioneer

Examiners, 620 A.2d 578 (Pa. Cmwith. 1993). Under Liquor Code
Section 479(b)(4), an AL] has discretion to assign five (5) to ten (10)
points, depending upon the circumstances of the citation for violations
of section 493(16) as it “relates to furnishing liquor at unlawful
hours.” [47 P.S. § 4-479(b)(4)]. The AL] imposed five (5) points
against Licensee’s license in accordance with section 479(b)(4) [47
P.S. § 4-479(b)(4)]. Because the Board has no authority to rule on
whether Act 239 of 2004 is constitutional, the decision of the AL] is
affirmed.

Because no error of law was committed by the AL] and the
record provides substantial evidence to support the decision of the AL],

it is hereby affirmed.



ORDER

The decision of the AL] is affirmed.

The appeal of Licensee is dismissed.

Licensee paid the fine of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) on
November 16, 2005.

It is hereby ordered that Licensee’s License No. R-7747 be
suspended for a period of one (1) day, beginning at 7:00 a.m. on
Monday, January 9, 2006, and ending at 7:00 a.m. on Tuesday,
January 10, 2006. Licensee is directed on Monday, January 9, 2006,
at 7:00 a.m. to place the enclosed Notice of Suspension Placard (Form
No. PLCB-1925) in a conspicuous place on the outside of the licensed
premises, or in a window plainly visible from outside the licensed
premises, and to remove said license from the wall and place it in a
secure location.

Licensee is authorized on Tuesday, January 10, 2006, at 7:00
a.m., to remove the placard of suspension and return the license to its

original wall location.



It is further ordered that five (5) points be assessed against the
record of Licensee, License No. R-7747, as required by section 479 of
the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-479].

Licensee must adhere to all other conditions set forth in the AL]’s

Order dated September 27, 2005.

Board Secretary



