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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on May 19, 2005, by the Bureau 

of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against Dennis R. 

Woll (Licensee), License Number R-11620. 
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  The citation1 charges Licensee with violations of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(1)].  The charge is that on February 2 and 3, 2005, Licensee, by servants, agents or 

employes, sold, furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic 

beverages to one (1) female minor, twenty (20) years of age. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on December 6, 2005 at Brandywine Plaza, 2221 

Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.  Licensee represented himself at the hearing. 

I advised Mr. Woll of his right to counsel, to cross-examine witnesses and to present testimony.   

Mr. Woll acknowledged that he understood those rights and that he was prepared to go forward 

without an attorney.  (N.T. 12) 

 

 After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law are entered. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Bureau began its investigation on February 8, 2005 and completed it on 

April 12, 2005.  (N.T. 15) 

 

 2. The Bureau sent a notice of alleged violations to Licensee at the licensed premises 

by certified mail-return receipt requested on April 28, 2005.  The notice alleged violations as 

charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 12) 

 

 3. On February 2 and 3, 2005, representing one visit extending past midnight, a 

twenty year old (born July 5, 1984) visited the subject premises.  She arrived at approximately 

10:30 p.m. and stayed until a little after midnight.  She was served two beers during her visit.    

She also purchased a mixed drink.  (N.T. 24-36) 

 

 4. The barmaid asked the twenty year old for identification.  She produced an 

identification card showing her to be twenty-three years old.  The barmaid served the minor.  

(N.T. 48-51) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                            

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2, N.T. 12. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The citation is sustained as charged. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since July 5, 1993, and has had four prior violations: 

 (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-3, N.T. 54): 

 

 Adjudication No.  94-0284.  Fine $400.00. 

Possessed or operated gambling devices or paraphernalia or 

permitted gambling or lotteries on the licensed premises 

(sports pools, sign up books, pool for money and tickets).  

January 15 and 25, 1994. 

 

Adjudication No. 97-0720.  Fine $200.00 and 1 day suspension 

with thereafter conditions.  Suspension vacated. 

Not a bona fide restaurant in that, you failed to provide 

food upon request. 

February 7 and March 1, 1997. 

 

 Adjudication No.  99-2058.  Fine $250.00. 

   1. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises 

    not later than one-half hour after the required time. 

    November 14, 1999. 

   2. Permitted patrons to possess and/or remove 

    alcoholic beverages after 2:30 A.M. 

    November 14, 1999. 
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  Adjudication No. 00-0498.  4 days suspension. 

   1. Sales between 2:00 A.M. and 7:00 A.M. 

    March 4, 2000. 

   2. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises 

    not later than one-half hour after the 

    required time. 

    March 4, 2000. 

   3. Permitted patrons to possess and/or remove 

    alcoholic beverages after 2:30 A.M. 

    March 4, 2000. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Licensee has been laboring under the misconception and belief that asking for 

identification is a sufficient defense in Pennsylvania.  I informed Licensee he was incorrect.  

 

 Because of Licensee’s unfamiliarity with the law, I impose a $1,000.00 fine.  I also order 

Licensee to comply with the requirements set forth in Liquor Code Section 471.1 [47 P.S. §4-

471.1], pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management, for a period of one year. 

 

ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Fine 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $1,000.00 within 20 days 

of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days 

from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked. 

 

 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money 

Order.  Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  

Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:  

 

PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110-9661 
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Imposition of RAMP Requirements 

 

 IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth 

in Liquor Code Section 471.1 pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following 

manner.  Licensee is directed to initiate contact with The Bureau of Alcohol Education, 

Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (Toll Free Telephone No.: 1-866-275-8237; Web Site: 

www.lcb.state.pa.us; Email Address: LBEducation@state.pa.us), within 30 days of the mailing 

date of this Adjudication for assistance in the compliance process.  Licensee must receive 

Certification within 90 days of the mailing date of this Adjudication.  Licensee must remain in 

compliance for a period of one year from the date such Certification was issued.  The Bureau of 

Liquor Control Enforcement is further directed to monitor compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this     30th      day of December, 2005. 

 

 

                                                                                                                  

                                                                              Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

pm 

 

 MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 

DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A 

WRITTEN REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE 

FILING FEE. 

http://www.lcb.state.pa.us/
mailto:LBEducation@state.pa.us

