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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on August 11, 2005, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) 

against MARK A. DENSBERGER, License Number  R-AP-SS-17357 (hereinafter “Licensee”). 

 

 The citation contains two counts. 

 

  The first count charges Licensee with violation of Section 437 of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-437] and Section 5.41 of the Liquor Control Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code §5.41] in 

that on May 27, 2005, Licensee, by his servants, agents or employes, operated the licensed 

establishment without a valid health permit or license, which expired on April 30, 2005. 
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 The second count charges Licensee with violation of Section 5.32(a) of the Liquor 

Control Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code §5.32(a)] in that on April 29, 30, May 1, 7, 13, 14, 20 

and 21, 2005, Licensee, by his servants, agents or employes, used, or permitted to be used on the 

inside of the licensed premises, a loudspeaker or similar device whereby the sound of music or 

other entertainment, or the advertisement thereof, could be heard outside. 

 

 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on May 23, 2005 and was 

completed on June 18, 2005; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified Mail 

on June 24, 2005.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on January 12, 2006 in the PA 

Department of Agriculture, 2130 County Farms Road, Montoursville, Pennsylvania.  Licensee(s) 

did not appear at the hearing, nor did anyone appear on his behalf.  A citation hearing notice was 

sent to Licensee(s) at his address of record, 2 Water Street, Washingtonville, PA 17884 by 

certified mail, return receipt requested and by first class mail on November 22, 2005.  The notice 

set forth the date and time of the hearing as January 12, 2006 at 11:00 a.m., and the place of 

hearing as PA Dept. of Agriculture, 2130 County Farms Road, Montoursville, PA 17754-9685. 

 

 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

COUNT 1 

 

 1. Licensee’s eating and drinking license from the Bureau of Food Safety and 

Laboratory Services of the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture expired on April 30, 2005, 

and, as of May 27, 2005, it had not been renewed (N.T. Exhibit C-5). 

 

 2. On May 27, 2005 an officer of the Bureau entered the licensed premises at 10:00 

p.m.  Upon entry he observed a male tending bar (N.T. 8). 

 

 3. The officer put money on the bar and ordered a bottle of Yuengling Lager beer.  

The bartender took $2.25 for his drink and served him the beer (N.T. 8). 

 

COUNT 2 

 

 4. On the dates listed in Count 2 of the Citation, a neighbor whose residence is 

approximately 75 feet from the licensed premises was disturbed in the evening by loud music 

emanating from the licensed premises.  The music came from a jukebox and was amplified 

through loudspeakers (N.T. 13-23). 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

  Counts 1 and 2 of the citation are sustained. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since July 8, 2003, and has had no prior violations.  Licensee 

is, therefore, entitled to be treated as a first time offender. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be as follows: 

 

  Count 1 - $150.00 fine 

  Count 2 - $250.00 fine 

 

ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee MARK A. DENSBERGER, pay a fine 

of $400.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine 

is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be 

suspended or revoked. 

 

 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check or Certified Check.  

Personal checks, which includes business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  Make  

check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained pending final resolution of the penalty in this matter. 

 

Dated this     11th    day of August, 2006. 

 

 

                                                           

        Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J. 

an 
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MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN  15 DAYS OF 

THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER IN THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE 

LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR 

RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE. 

 

 


