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ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on August 23, 2005, by the
Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against The
Castle Pub, Inc., t/a The Castle Pub (Licensee), License Number R-AP-SS-EHF-6101.



THE CASTLE PUB, INC.
CITATION NO. 05-1718 PAGE 2

The citation' charges Licensee with violations of Section5.32(a) of the Pennsylvania
Liquor Control Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code 85.32(a)]. The charge is that on February 20,
March 5, 12, 17, April 16 and May 14, 2005, Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, used, or
permitted to be used on the inside of its licensed premises, a loudspeaker or similar device
whereby the sound of music or other entertainment, or the advertisement thereof, could be heard
outside.

An evidentiary hearing was conducted on May 10, 2006 at the Hampton Inn, 180
Charlotte Drive, Altoona, Pennsylvania.

After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law are entered.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. The Bureau began its investigation on January 23, 2005 and completed it on July
21,2005. (N.T. 12)

2. The Bureau sent a notice of alleged violations to Licensee at the licensed premises
by certified mail-return receipt requested. The notice alleged violations as charged in the
citation.

3. On the dates charged, Licensee permitted amplified music to escape its premises.
(N.T. 12-20)

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §84-471] have been
satisfied.

2. The citation is sustained as charged.

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2 (05-1718), N.T. 9.
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DISCUSSION:

Licensee presented a defense which had no teeth to it. The gist of the argument is that
Licensee was being picked on. Licensee claims the difficulties began in 2003 when an article
appeared in a local newspaper. Subsequently, patronage at the licensed premises decreased. It
seems Licensee was a “cop bar.”

Licensee never filed formal complaints against the individuals whom Licensee claims
“had it in” for Licensee. Moreover, Licensee refused to release the names of two individuals
who, Licensee claims, confirmed that Licensee is being targeted. If it were true that local
government authorities were out to get Licensee, they certainly could have done a better job than
what was presented at this hearing.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since March 7, 2002, and has had two prior violations:

Adjudication No. 03-2086. Fine $500.00.
Committed simple assault, harassment, engaged in
disorderly conduct and recklessly endangered
another person.
July 31, 2003.

Adjudication No. 05-0193. Fine $200.00.
1. Noisy and/or disorderly operation.
November 14, 21 and December 31, 2004.
2. Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music
could be heard outside.
November 14, 21 and December 31, 2004.

PENALTY:
Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 84-471] prescribes a penalty of license

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for
violations of the type found in this case.
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Licensee claims it is not a “problem bar.” Of course, that is rather subjective. Licensee
has since placed the business up for sale and is not operating. Accordingly, | impose a $300.00
fine.

ORDER:
Imposition of Fine

THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $300.00 within 20 days of
the mailing date of this Order. In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days
from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked.

The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money
Order. Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable.
Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110-9661
Retaining Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication.

Dated this __ 12" day of June, 2006.

Felix Thau, A.L.J.
pm

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15
DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE. A
WRITTEN REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE
FILING FEE.



