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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on October 20, 2005, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) 

against THE COPPERHEAD, L.L.C., License Number  E-AM-SS-3272 (hereinafter 

“Licensee”). 

 

  The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 442(a) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-422(a)] in that on September 14, 2005, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, 

sold malt or brewed beverages in excess of 192 fluid ounces in a single sale to one person for 

consumption off premises. 
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 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on August 17, 2005 and was 

completed on September 14, 2005; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified 

Mail on September 30, 2005.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on April 13, 2006 in the PA Department 

of Agriculture, 2130 County Farms Road, Pennsylvania. 

 

 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

  1. On September 14, 2005 an officer of the Bureau entered the licensed premises in 

an undercover capacity (N.T. 9). 

 

 2. Upon entry, the officer approached a standup cooler, and retrieved a 12-pack of 

twelve ounce cans of Busch beer and a 6-pack of sixteen ounce cans of Miller Lite beer and 

placed them on the counter (N.T. 9-10). 

 

 3. The counter person turned to the cash register, hit buttons on the register, turned 

to the officer and requested $15.00 (N.T. 10). 

 

 4. The officer gave the counter person $20.00, and received $5.00 change (N.T. 10). 

 

 5. The counter person advised the officer that he would have to carry one item out at 

a time because there was a law that you couldn’t carry out 192 fluid ounces (N.T. 10). 

 

 6. The officer carried the 12-pack and the 6-pack out individually (N.T. 10). 

 

CONCLUSION OF LAW: 

 

  The charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

DISCUSSION: 

 

  The actual intention of the parties was the purchase of more than 192 fluid ounces of 

malt or brewed beverages for consumption off premises.  The charge in the citation is, therefore, 

sustained. 

 

 Section 442(a)(1) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-442(a)(1)] provides in part: 

 

…no retail dispenser may sell malt or brewed beverages for 

consumption off premises in quantities in excess of one hundred 

ninety two fluid ounces; … 
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 Licensee contends that the events in question amounted to two separate sales, each under 

192 fluid ounces, and, therefore, no violation occurred.  I disagree. 

 
 The issue presented here was addressed by Administrative Law Judge Thau in Thomas 

E. D’Andrea, Citation No. 88-1218, V Sel. Op. 169.  In that case Judge Thau, citing the 

Statutory Construction Act [1 Pa. C.S. §1922(1)] and the interpretational directives of the Liquor 

Code Section 104 [47 P.S. §1-104], indicated that a statute is not to be interpreted in a manner 

which renders it meaningless.1 

 

 Judge Thau further indicated that to accept Licensee’s position in that case, which is the 

same as Licensee’s position in this case, would allow a patron to purchase five cases of beer so 

long as the transaction was broken down into separate transactions, each less than 192 fluid 

ounces.  Such an interpretation renders the statutory provision in question meaningless. 

 

 I agree with Judge Thau that only those separate transactions which are entered into in 

good faith and not in an attempt to circumvent the statute should be considered legitimate. 

 

 In this case the officer placed a twelve pack of twelve ounce cans and a six pack of 

sixteen ounce cans for a total of 250 ounces on the counter simultaneously.  He was given one 

price for the purchase of $15.00.  He tendered a $20.00 bill and received $5.00 change.  It is only 

at this point that a feeble attempt is made to portray the sale of beer as two transactions when the 

counter person asks the officer to carry out the parcels separately. 

 

 It is clear in this case that the parties intended one sale and purchase of 250 ounces of 

beer at one time. 

 

 Based upon the foregoing, I conclude that the charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since November 8, 2004, and has had no prior violations.  

Licensee is, therefore, entitled to be treated as a first time offender. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                            
 1 In support of this position Judge Thau cited Commonwealth, Liquor Control Board v. 

Starr, 318 A.2d 763 (Pa. Cmwlth 1974), affirmed Commonwealth, Liquor Control Board v. 

Starr, 337 A.2d 914 (Pa. Cmwlth 1975); and In re School District of Pittsburgh, 244 A.2d 42 

(Pa. 1968). 
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PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be a fine of $250.00. 

 

ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee THE COPPERHEAD, L.L.C., pay a 

fine of $250.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned 

fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be 

suspended or revoked. 

 

 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check or Certified Check.  

Personal checks, which includes business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  Make  

check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained pending final resolution of the penalty in this matter. 

 

Dated this     5th    day of September, 2006. 

 

 

 

                                                           

        Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J. 

an 

 

 

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN  15 DAYS OF 

THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER IN THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE 

LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR 

RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE. 

 


