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OPINION

Shua Lia, Inc. t/a The New Paul Brothers Beverage Mart (“Licensee”)
appealed from an Order issued in response to Licensee’s Petition For
Reconsideration by Administrative Law Judge Tania E. Wright (“AL]}”),

wherein the AL] denied the Petition.



The citation charged that, on September 1 and 9, 2005, Licensee, by
its servants, agents or employees, violated section 493(1) of the Liquor Code
[47 P.S. § 4-493(1)] by selling, furnishing and/or giving or permitting such
sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to two (2) male minors,
seventeen (17) and nineteen (19) years of age.

The record in this matter reflects that, following a hearing, on April 18,
2007, the AL] mailed her Adjudication and Order sustaining the citation and
imposing a fine in the amount of one thousand one hundred ($1,100.00)
dollars. By Petition dated May 1, 2007, Licensee sought reconsideration of
the AL)’s Adjudication and Order.

On May 15, 2007, the AL] mailed a Response to Licensee’s Petition
For Reconsideration, denying same, stating that her opinion was unchanged
regarding the application of the law to the facts presented, and further stating
that Licensee’s penalty of one thousand one hundred dollars ($1,100.00)
was clearly within the minimum range and should remain.

Licensee filed an appeal with the Board on June 7, 2007.

Inasmuch as section 17.21(b)(2) of the Board’s Regulations [40 Pa.
Code § 17.21(b)(2)] sets forth that appeals from decisions of the AL] shall

be filed or postmarked within thirty (30) calendar days of the mailing date of
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the adjudication, Licensee’s appeal must be considered untimely as an appeal
of the AL] Adjudication issued on April 18, 2007. However, Licensee
appears to have fashioned its appeal as an appeal from the Response to
Licensee’s Petition For Reconsideration. As the AL]’s Order in response to
the reconsideration request was mailed on May 15, 2007, Licensee’s appeal
of that Order is deemed timely.

Pursuant to section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471], the
appeal in this case must be based solely on the record before the AL]. The
Board shall only reverse the decision of the AL] if the AL] committed an
error of law or abused his discretion, or if his decision was not based upon
substantial evidence. The Commonwealth Court defined "substantial
evidence" to be such relevant evidence as a reasonable person might accept as

adequate to support a conclusion. Joy Global, Inc. v. Workers'

Compensation Appeal Bd. (Hogue), 876 A.2d 1098 (Pa. Cmwith. 2005);

Chapman v. Pennsylvania Bd. of Probation and Parole, 86 Pa. Cmwlith. 49,

484 A.2d 413 (1984).
On appeal, Licensee contends generally that the AL]’s conclusions that
Licensee violated section 4-493(1) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-

493(1)] were not based upon substantial evidence.
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The record reveals that, on September 1, 2005, at approximately 7:30
p.m., Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement
(“Bureau”) Officer Burns, accompanied by Bureau Officer Clark, parked
approximately thirty (30) feet across the street from the licensed premises in
the course of conducting a general investigation. (N.T. 6-8). At
approximately 8:10 p.m., the officers observed a vehicle with four (4)
youthful-appearing occupants inside, pull into a parking spot in front of the
licensed premises. (N.T. 9-10, 29-30). Three (3) of the four (4)
occupants exited the vehicle and entered the premises, leaving the driver in
the vehicle. (N.T. 9-10, 29-30). The three (3) individuals exited the
premises approximately ten (10) minutes later, with one (1) male carrying a
brown box of what appeared to be a case of forty (40)-ounce bottles of
Hurricane malt liquor. (N.T. 11-12). The Bureau officers identified
themselves and requested identification form each youthful-appearing male.
(N.T. 12). The officer determined that the driver was a minor, that two (2)
of the individuals carrying the malt liquor were minors, and the fourth
individual, identified at Joseph Larry, was twenty-one (21) years of age.

(N.T. 12-13).



According to the seventeen (17)-year-old minor, while inside Licensee’s
premises, he removed a case of Hurricane malt liquor from the refrigerator
and placed it on the conveyor belt at the counter. (N.T. 30-31). Once Mr.
Larry paid for the beer, the minor picked it up and carried it outside. (N.T.
32-33). While Mr. Larry’s identification was requested by Licensee, the
minor was never asked for identification, nor was he asked to sign anything
before being permitted to carry the beer outside. (N.T. 32-35).

After citing the minors, the officers entered the licensed premises and
observed two (2) employees; a white male was inside a cashier’s booth, and
an Asian male was seen standing outside and later inside the premises. (N.T.
14-16). Upon questioning, the white male stated that they were busy and
the Eagles game was on. (N.T. 16). The officers determined that Licensee
had a declaration of age card file, although there was none for the individual
who purchased the malt liquor. (N.T. 16-17). The officers advised the
employees about taking precautions with the start of school and who might be
in possession of alcohol inside the store. (N.T. 17-18, 44-45).

The officers returned to Licensee’s premises on September 9, 2005,
arriving at approximately 8:15 p.m. (N.T. 18-19). While parked across the

street, the officers observed a Chevy Blazer park in front of the licensed
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premises. (N.T. 19). Two (2) male occupants exited the vehicle and
entered the licensed premises. (N.T. 19-20). Approximately ten (10)
minutes later, one (1) of the males was observed exiting the licensed premises
carrying a half keg of beer. (N.T. 20). The other male, later identified as
Jeff Laird, was observed to be carrying two (2) bags of ice and a thirty (30)-
pack of Natural Light beer. (N.T. 20, 37). Upon questioning by the
officers, it was determined that Mr. Laird was twenty-one (21) years old, and
the other was nineteen (19) years of age, with a date of birth of May 31,
1986. (N.T. 21-22).

According to the nineteen (19)-year-old minor, he drove with a friend
to the licensed premises on September 92, 2005. (N.T. 36). After Mr.
Laird placed a keg of beer on a hand truck, the minor pushed the hand truck
up to the cashier station. (N.T. 37-39). The beer was paid for by Mr. Laird
and, thereafter, the minor wheeled the keg of beer out of the store and
loaded it into his vehicle. (N.T. 39-40). While Mr. Laird’s identification was
requested by Licensee, the minor’s identification was not. (N.T. 39)

After citing the minor, the officers entered the licensed premises and
spoke with Licensee’s president, Aeli Lee. (N.T. 23, 39-40). She appeared

to be aware of the warning issued by the officers on September 1, 2005.
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(N.T. 23-24). No declaration of age card file or age detection device was
presented to them during their discussion with Ms. Lee. (N.T. 23-24).

Ms. Lee stated that there is an age identifying device in her office next
to the cash register; however, the officer never came into the office to check
it. (N.T. 27). She was aware of the September 1, 2005 incident at the
licensed premises. (N.T. 42-43). She stated that she tries to check
identifications of anyone making a purchase, but questioned whether or not
she should check the identifications of everyone who enters the premises.
(N.T. 45). Ms. Lee stated that she tries to be careful, as she recognizes that
her store is near a university. (N.T. 46).

Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code provides that it shall be unlawful
“Iflor any licensee, . . . or employe, servant or agent of such licensee . . . to
sell, furnish or give any . . . malt or brewed beverages, or to permit any . . .
malt or brewed beverages to be sold, furnished or given . . . to any minor. . .
7 [47 P.S. § 4-493(1)]. Section 495 of the Liquor Code also provides
that a licensee who has provided alcohol to a minor may, nonetheless, escape
liability if the licensee required the minor to provide proper identification and

if the licensee acted in good faith. [47 P.S. § 4-495(e), (f)].



In the instant case, it is undisputed that on September 1 and 9, 2005,
Licensee permitted minors to be in possession of malt or brewed beverages, in
that they were permitted to carry alcohol without question as to their age.
For the first instance, Licensee’s employee was given a warning that Licensee
should be extremely careful and conscientious about who is coming and
going, and who is in possession of alcohol inside the premises. Licensee’s
corporate president admitted she was made aware of the officers’ visit and
their warning given on September 1, 2005.

Nevertheless, on September 9, 2005, a minor again had easy access to
Licensee’s beer refrigerator, and again was permitted to carry the keg out of
the premises. This situation evidences the lack of attention Licensee’s
employees gave to the situation on September 1, 2005, when the Bureau’s
officers gave a stern warning and advised the employees to be more diligent
and to be especially careful because of their proximity to a university.
Licensee most likely would not be in the position it finds itself in if it had
given serious attention to the warning given on September 1, 2005.

While the Board acknowledges that there are no specific restrictions on
minors being present in distributor licensed premises, under no circumstances

should an underage person be given tacit approval to carry and possess
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alcohol even where the actual purchase is made by a person twenty-one (21)
years of age or older. Licensee acted in total disregard of the warning given
by Bureau officers a little more than a week earlier.

Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code is specific in prohibiting licensees
from furnishing directly or permitting alcohol or brewed beverages from being
furnished or given to any minor. Licensee has clearly violated that portion of
section 493(1), and ignored a golden opportunity to escape liability by
permitting such behavior to occur after being warned to be more diligent.

Because Licensee failed to prevent the circumstances which allowed two
(2) minors to be furnished and given beer while on the licensed premises, the
Board finds that the AL]’s decision is supported by substantial evidence.

The decision of the AL] is, therefore, affirmed.



ORDER

The decision of the AL] is affirmed.

The appeal of Licensee is dismissed.

Licensee is hereby ordered to pay the fine in the amount of one
thousand one hundred dollars ($1,100.00). Failure to pay the fine within
twenty (20) days of the mailing date of this Order will result in license
suspension and/or revocation.

Licensee must adhere to all conditions set forth in the AL]’s Orders in

this matter.

Board Secretary
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