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ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on December 7, 2005, by the
Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against Sailtae,
Inc. (Licensee), License Number R-AP-SS-15183.
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The citation' charges Licensee with a violation of Section 13.102(a)(2) of
the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code §13.102(a)(2)]. The charge is
that on November 3, 2005, Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, sold and/or served an
increased volume of one drink without a corresponding and proportionate increase in the price of
the drink, inthat 16 oz. cups and 24 oz. pitchers of Long Island Ice Tea were both sold for $2.00.

An evidentiary hearing was conducted on May 3, 2006 atthe Scranton State Office
Building, PUC Hearing Room 318, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania. Licensee
did not appear personally or by representation.

After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law are entered.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. The Bureau began its investigation on August 19, 2005 and completed it
on October 3, 2005. (N.T. 5)

2. The Bureau sent a notice of an alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed
premises by certified mail-return receipt requested on November 8, 2005. The notice alleged
violations as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2, N.T. 6)

3. On November 3, 2005, a Bureau Enforcement Officer entered the premises in an
undercover capacity after paying a $5.00 cover charge. There was a price listed on a board for a
twenty-four ounce pitcher of a mixed alcoholic beverage for $2.00. The Officer ordered the
drink. The bartender gave the Officer a sixteen ounce container of a mixed alcoholic beverage
after paying $2.00. The Officer advised the bartender that he wanted the twenty-four ounce
special. The bartender indicated there were no more pitchers available. (N.T. 8-10)

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2, N.T. 6.
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. 84-471] have been
satisfied.

2. The Bureau has failed to prove that Licensee, by servants, agents or employes,
sold and/or served an increased volume of one drink without a corresponding and proportionate
increase in the price of the drink, in that 16 oz. cups and 24 oz. pitchers of Long Island Ice Tea
were both sold for $2.00.

DISCUSSION:

Licensee originally submitted an Admission, Waiver and Authorization (Waiver).
Because the facts as presented to me in the Bureau’s Pre-Hearing Memorandum did not support
the charge, I chose to process the matter via ex-parte hearing.

The Bureau has brought a baseless charge. The concept of discounting is relative.
Accordingly, one must first establish a base price. The next step is to compare the “discounted”
price to the base. Licensee offered a price of $2.00 for a twenty-four ounce unit of an alcoholic
beverage. That is the “zero line” from which we are to determine whether a discount occurred.

The Officer received sixteen ounces of the alcoholic beverage for $2.00. Consequently,
the Officer received only two-thirds of the volume offered. If anything, Licensee failed to
provide that which was offered.

ORDER:

NOW THEREFORE, it is ordered that Citation No. 05-2491 issued to Sailtae, Inc., is
DISMISSED.

Dated this 7t day of June, 2006.

Felix Thau, A.L.J.
pm

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15
DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE. A
WRITTEN REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE
FILING FEE.



