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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on April 6, 2006, by the Bureau of 

Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) against 

OLD BLUE STAR, INC., License Number  H-AP-SS-EHF-1159 (hereinafter “Licensee”). 

 

 The citation contains three counts. 

 

 The first count charges Licensee with violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(1)] in that on January 29, 2006, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, sold, 

furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one 

female minor, twenty years of age. 
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 The second count charges Licensee with violation of Section 493(2) of the Liquor Code 

[47 P.S. §4-493(2)] and Sections 11.192 and 11.193 of the Liquor Control Board Regulations [40 

Pa. Code §§11.192 and 11.193] in that on February 13, 2006, Licensee, by its servants, agents or 

employes, sold alcoholic beverages on credit in contravention of the provisions of the Liquor 

Code and Title 40 of the Pennsylvania Code. 

 

 The third count charges Licensee with violation of Sections 102 and 461(c) of the Liquor 

Code [47 P.S. §§1-102 and 4-461(c)] in that on January 29, February 13, 2006 and divers other 

occasions during the previous thirty days, the licensed premises was not a bona fide hotel in that 

bedrooms maintained for the accommodation of guests were insufficient in number and/or 

inadequately equipped. 

 

 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on January 13, 2006 and was 

completed on February 13, 2006; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified 

Mail on March 8, 2006.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on August 23, 2006 in the Office of 

Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, 

Pennsylvania. 

 

 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

COUNT 1 

 

 1. On January 29, 2006 a 20 year old female patron entered the take out portion of 

the licensed premises (Stipulation N.T. 9). 

 

 2. The aforementioned minor requested a 40 ounce bottle of Miller Lite beer from 

the employe of Licensee.  The employe retrieved a 40 ounce bottle of Miller Lite beer, and 

provided it to the minor.  The minor tendered a $20.00 bill for payment and received $17.00 in 

change (Stipulation N.T. 9). 

 

 3. The minor immediately left the licensed premises (Stipulation N.T. 9). 

 

COUNT 2 

 

 4. On February 13, 2006 two officers of the Bureau conducted an open inspection of 

the licensed premises (Stipulation N.T. 10). 

 

 5. During the inspection one of the officers observed credit slips behind the bar 

(Stipulation N.T. 10). 
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 6. The officer inquired of Licensee’s corporate principal concerning the credit slips.  

The principal, Mr. Papadopoulos admitted that they were credit slips for three individual patrons 

who were “running tabs.” (Stipulation N.T. 10). 

 

COUNT 3 

 

 7. During the inspection on February 13, 2006 the officers asked Licensee’s 

corporate principal to take them on a tour of the rooms which were supposed to be available to 

the public (Stipulation N.T. 11-12). 

 

 8. During the aforementioned inspection the officers found that none of the hotel 

rooms had furnishings.  There were damages to the walls and ceilings caused by water.  One 

room had extensive floor damage caused by water.  The door jams and locks were broken on 

most of the rooms.  Several lacked window glass with the glass being broken (Stipulation N.T. 

11-12).   

 

 9. On May 26, 2006 Licensee applied for an exemption pursuant to Section 

461(c)(9) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-461(c)(9)] providing an exemption for grandfathered 

hotel licensees to be able to continue to operate without having rooms habitable for the public.  

The application was in good form, and as of the date of the hearing had not been addressed by 

the Board (Stipulation N.T. 12-13). 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

  Counts 1, 2 and 3 of the citation are sustained. 

 

DISCUSSION: 

 

  At the hearing in this matter, counsel for the Bureau and counsel for Licensee stipulated 

to the facts establishing the violations in this case. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since September 1, 2000, and has had six prior violations: 

 

 Citation No. 02-0617.  Fine $250.00. 

 1. Sold an unlimited or indefinite amount of alcoholic  

  beverages for a fixed price.  December 20, 2001. 

 

Citation No. 04-0254.  Fine $3,750.00. 

 1. Sales to visibly intoxicated persons.  May 17, 2003. 

 2. Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could  

  be heard outside.  February 20, 26, March 5, 12,  

  April 3, 9, 23 and May 8, 2003. 
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 3. Noisy and/or disorderly operation.  February 20, 26, 

  March 5, 12, April 3, 9, 23 and May 8, 2003. 

 4. Sales between 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m.  December  

  27, 2003. 

 5. Engaged in unlawful discrimination in that you  

  admitted female patrons free of charge while  

  charging an admission fee to male patrons.  October 

  16 and  November 13, 2003. 

 

Citation No. 04-2041.  Fine $2,000.00. 

 1. Sales to visibly intoxicated persons.  September 4,  

  2004. 

 

Citation No. 05-0435.  Fine $1,100.00. 

 1. Sold liquor for consumption off premises.  January  

  19 and 22, 2005. 

 2. Failed to constantly and conspicuously expose your  

  license under a transparent substance.  November  

  24, December 6, 7, 2004 and January 19, 2005. 

 3. Discounted the price of alcoholic beverages in  

  excess of 2 hours in a business day.  January 19,  

  2005. 

 4. Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could  

  be heard outside.  December 23, 2004. 

 

Citation No. 05-0998.  Fine $1,200.00 and 1 day suspension. 

 1. Sales to a minor.  April 14, 2005. 

 

Citation No. 05-2550.  Fine $200.00. 

 1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or  

  brewed beverages.  August 10, 2005. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in Count 1 of this case.  Further, Section 471(c) requires that the 

penalty imposed include license revocation or suspension where the violation in question is the 

third or subsequent violation of the offenses referred to in subsection 471(b) of the Liquor Code 

[47 P.S. §4-471(b)] and/or Crimes Code within a four year period.  Therefore, license revocation 

or suspension must be included as part of the penalty. 
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 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in Counts 2 and 3 of this case. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be as follows: 

 

  Count 1 - $2,500.00 and one day suspension and RAMP training 

  Count 2 - $250.00 fine 

  Count 3 - $250.00 fine and one day suspension. 

 

ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee OLD BLUE STAR, INC., pay a fine 

of $3,000.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned 

fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be 

suspended or revoked. 

 

 THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the hotel liquor license of OLD BLUE 

STAR, INC., License No. H-AP-SS-EHF-1159 be suspended for a period of two days.  

However, the suspension period is deferred pending reactivation of Licensee’s license at which 

time the suspension period will be fixed by further Order. 

 

 IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Bureau of Licensing notify the Office of 

Administrative Law Judge of the reactivation of Licensee’s license so an Order may be entered 

fixing the dates for suspension. 

 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth 

in Liquor Code Section 471.1, pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following 

manner.  Licensee is directed to initiate contact with The Bureau of Alcohol Education, 

Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (Toll Free Telephone No.: 1-866-275-8237; Web Site: 

www.lcb.state.pa.us;  Email Address: LBEducation@state.pa.us) within 30 days of the mailing 

date of this Adjudication.  Licensee must receive Certification within 90 days of the mailing date 

of this Adjudication.  Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the date 

such Certification was issued.  The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement is further directed to 

monitor compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

 Failure to comply with this Order will be grounds for modification of penalty in this case.  

Failure to comply may also constitute grounds for issuance of a new citation as authorized by 

Section 471(d) of the liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471(d)]. 

http://www.lcb.state.pa.us/
mailto:LBEducation@state.pa.us
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 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check or Certified Check.  

Personal checks, which includes business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  Make  

check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained pending final resolution of the penalty in this matter. 

 

Dated this     26th    day of October, 2006. 

 

 

 

                                                           

        Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J. 

an 

 

 

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN  15 DAYS OF 

THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER IN THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE 

LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR 

RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE. 

 


