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OPINION

8919 Ridge, Inc. (“Licensee”) appeals the Supplemental Order Upon
Remand of Administrative Law Judge David L. Shenkle (“AL]”), wherein the

AL] reinstated the fine against Licensee.



The citation in this case charged that, on March 9, 2006, Licensee, by
its servants, agents or employees, violated section 407 of the Liquor Code
[47 P.S. § 4-407], by selling malt or brewed beverages for consumption off-
premises.

On March 1, 2007, the AL] ordered the citation dismissed on the
basis that the statute upon which it is based has been determined to be
unconstitutional. The Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control
Enforcement (“Bureau”) appealed the Opinion and Order of the AL] to the
Board. By Opinion and Order mailed on May 23, 2007, the Board reversed
and remanded the case to the AL] for imposition of an appropriate penalty.
The AL] reinstated the citation, imposed a fine in the amount of fifty dollars
($50.00), and assessed one (1) point against the license. Licensee now
appeals the Supplemental Order Upon Remand.

Pursuant to section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471], the
appeal in this case must be based solely on the record before the AL]. The
Board shall only reverse the decision of the AL], if the AL] committed an
error of law or abused his discretion, or if his decision was not based upon
substantial evidence. The Commonwealth Court defined "substantial

evidence" to be such relevant evidence as a reasonable person might accept as
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adequate to support a conclusion. Joy Global, Inc. v. Workers'

Compensation Appeal Bd. (Hogue), 876 A.2d 1098 (Pa. Cmwlith. 2005);

Chapman v. Pennsylvania Bd. of Probation and Parole, 86 Pa. Cmwith. 49,

484 A.2d 413 (1984).
On appeal, Licensee contends that the penalty is improper and the
Supplemental Order of the AL] is void because of the controlling legal

authority of USA Deli, Inc., which states that Act 39 adjudications violate

due process of law under the Pennsylvania Constitution and Fourteenth
Amendment of the United States Constitution.

The sole issue on appeal, however, is the ALJ}’s imposition of the
penalty in this case. The imposition of penalties is the exclusive prerogative of
the AL]. The Board may not dispute penalties which are within the
parameters set forth in section 471 of the Liquor Code. [47 P.S. § 4-471].
For violations sustained by the AL], penalties may include license suspension
or revocation and/or fines ranging from fifty ($50.00) to one thousand
dollars ($1,000.00). [47 P.S. § 4-471(b)]. In addition, under section
479(c)(1) of the Liquor Code, the Board shall, by regulation, assign points

ranging on a scale of one to five for violations set forth in this act and its



regulations.! [47 P.S. § 4-479(c)(1)]. In the instant case, the penalties are
within the range prescribed in the Liquor Code and Board regulations.
Based upon the foregoing, AL]’s Supplemental Order Upon Remand is

affirmed.

! Pursuant to 47 P.S. § 483 the point system expired on June 30, 2007. However, in the instant case, the citation
occurred before the point system expired and therefore, the issuance of a point is proper.
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ORDER

The AL]’s Supplemental Order Upon Remand is affirmed.

Licensee's appeal of the AL])’s Supplemental Order Upon Remand is
dismissed.

It is hereby ordered that Licensee pay the fine of fifty dollars ($50.00).
Failure to pay the fine within twenty (20) days of the mailing date of this
Order will result in license suspension and/or revocation.

It is further ordered that one (1) point is hereby assessed against the
record of Licensee pursuant to 40 Pa. Code § 3.122(d).

Licensee must adhere to all other conditions set forth in the AL]J’s

Supplemental Order Upon Remand dated June 18, 2007.

Board Secretary



