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BEFORE:  JUDGE  SHENKLE 

 

 

APPEARANCES: 

For Bureau of Enforcement:  Erik S. Shmukler, Esquire 

For Licensee:  John J. McCreesh, III, Esquire 

 

ADJUDICATION 

BACKGROUND: 

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this 

citation on April 25, 2006.  The citation alleges that Licensee violated §493(1) of the Liquor 

Code, 47 P.S. §4-493(1), on February 3, 2006, by selling, furnishing, and/or giving or permitting 

such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to five female minors, eighteen to twenty 

years of age. 

A hearing was held on August 22, 2007 in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania.  The parties 

stipulated to the timely service of the notice letter and citation. 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

1. Liquor Enforcement Officer Garry Ford and Liquor Enforcement Supervisor Frank 

Spera visited the licensed premises at about 11:45 p.m. on February 3, 2006 (N.T. 5-6, 14-15). 

2. Officer Ford saw a young-looking woman in possession of an alcoholic beverage.  He 

spoke to her and obtained her Pennsylvania Driver’s License.  The license, as well as the records 

of the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, show that her birth date was March 27, 1985 

(N.T. 7-9, 11-12, Exhibit B-3). 
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3. Supervisor Spera saw a young-looking woman in possession of an alcoholic 

beverage.  He spoke to her and obtained her Pennsylvania Identification Card.  The card, as well 

as the records of the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, show that her birth date was 

March 28, 1987 (N.T. 15-16, Exhibit B-4). 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Licensee violated §493(1) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-493(1), on February 3, 2006, 

by permitting two female minors, eighteen and twenty years of age, to possess alcoholic 

beverages in the licensed premises. 

PRIOR RECORD: 

Licensee has been licensed since November 1, 2002, and has had one prior violation: 

Citation No. 03-1827.  $1,000.00 fine. 

1. Sales to minors.  June 21, 2003. 

2. Minor frequenting.  June 21, 2003.             

PENALTY: 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine in the $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 range, or both, for violations of 

the type found in this case. 

 

ORDER 

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, Gorman’s Tavern, Inc., License 

No. R-SS-OPS-2603, shall pay a fine of one thousand two hundred fifty dollars ($1,250.00) 

within 20 days of the mailing date of this order.  In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, 

Licensee’s license will be suspended or revoked.  Jurisdiction is retained. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth 

in Liquor Code Section 471.1, pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management, in the following 

manner.  Within thirty (30) days after the mailing date of this adjudication, Licensee shall 

contact the Bureau of Alcohol Education, Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (toll free 

telephone: 1-866-275-8237; Web Site: www.lcb.state.pa.us) in order to receive assistance in the 

compliance process.  Licensee must receive certification within ninety (90) days after the mailing 

date of this adjudication.  Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the 

date such certification is issued.   
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Failure to comply with this order will be grounds for modification of penalty in this case.  

Failure to comply may also constitute grounds for issuance of a new citation as authorized by 

Section 471(d) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. Section 4-471(d). 

The fine must be paid by treasurer’s check, cashier’s check, certified check or money 

order. Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  

Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 

 

 

 

Dated this 12th day of September, 2007. 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                   

      David L. Shenkle, J. 

 

 

 

 

jb 

 

 

 

 
NOTICE:  MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE 

INWRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 

DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE. 
 


