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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on May 11, 2006, by the Bureau 

of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) against 

WATERING TROUGH, INC., License Number  R-AP-SS-12572 (hereinafter “Licensee”). 

 

 The citation contains two counts. 

 

 The first count charges Licensee with violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(1)] in that on February 12, 2006, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, sold, 

furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one 

female minor, twenty years of age. 



WATERING TROUGH, INC. 

CITATION NO.  06-1061C  PAGE 2 

 

 

 

 The second count charges Licensee with violation of Section 5.32(a) of the Liquor 

Control Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code §5.32(a)] in that on February 25, March 4 and 18, 2006, 

Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, used, or permitted to be used on the inside of the 

licensed premises, a loudspeaker or similar device whereby the sound of music or other 

entertainment, or the advertisement thereof, could be heard outside. 

 

 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on October 27, 2005 and was 

completed on March 27, 2006; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified Mail 

on April 6, 2006.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on January 30, 2007 in the Office of 

Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, 

Pennsylvania. 

 

 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

COUNT 1 

 

 1. A.R.C.  was born on September 14, 1985, and on February 12, 2006 she was 20 

years of age (N.T. 24-25). 

 

 2. On February 12, 2006 A.R.C. walked into the licensed premises.  She walked up 

to the bartender and asked for a 6-pack of Miller Lite beer in 12 ounce bottles (N.T. 25). 

 

 3. The bartender asked A.R.C. for identification and she presented her valid 

Pennsylvania Driver’s license showing her date of birth to be September 14, 1985.  The 

bartender looked at it and handed it back to her.  She then went to the cooler, got the beverage, 

came back and told A.R.C. that the price was $7.00.  A.R.C. handed her a $10.00 bill, and the 

bartender gave her $3.00 in change (N.T. 25).  A.R.C. then took the 6-pack and left the licensed 

premises. 

 

 4. Although Licensee has an electronic scanning device, the bartender did not scan 

the license presented by A.R.C.  Further, the bartender did not ask A.R.C. to fill out a 

Declaration of Age Card, nor did she make a photostatic copy of the license (N.T. 43-44). 
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COUNT 2 

 

 5. On February 25, 2006 an officer of the Bureau arrived in the vicinity of the 

licensed premises.  As soon as he arrived he immediately heard music emanating from the 

premises.  He walked to the front door to verify that the music was coming from the licensed 

premises.  He then conducted a sound check and could hear music emanating from the licensed 

premises at distances up to 190 feet (N.T. 14). 

 

 6. The officer returned to the licensed premises on February 25, 2006 and went 

inside where he observed that there was a band performing on that evening.  The music from the 

band was amplified through loudspeakers (N.T. 14-15). 

 

 7. On March 4, 2006 the officer again arrived in the vicinity of the licensed premises 

and again heard music emanating from the licensed premises.  He conducted a sound check and 

could hear music emanating from the licensed premises at distances up to 112 feet.  He entered 

the licensed premises and observed that a band was playing music that was amplified through 

loudspeakers (N.T. 15). 

 

 8. On March 18, 2006 the officer again arrived at the licensed premises.  He entered 

the premises and observed that a DJ was playing music for the entertainment of patrons.  The 

music was amplified through loudspeakers.  The officer exited the licensed premises at 1:20 a.m. 

where he heard music emanating from the licensed premises at distances up to 92 feet (N.T. 15-

16). 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

  Counts 1 and 2 of the citation are sustained. 

 

DISCUSSION: 

 

COUNT 1 

 

 The preponderance of the credible evidence establishes that the minor, acting as part of a 

compliance check, entered the licensed, ordered beer and showed her valid Pennsylvania 

Driver’s license showing her to be under 21 years of age.  Further, the bartender on duty in the 

licensed premises did not use an electronic swipe machine to check the ID presented by the 

minor.  Further, she did not have the minor fill out a Declaration of Age Card nor did she 

photostat the ID presented by the minor.  Under these circumstances, the charge in Count 1 of 

the citation is sustained. 

 

 In a liquor license case, the burden is on the Commonwealth to establish a violation by a 
clear preponderance of the evidence.  In re Omicron Enterprises, 449 A.2d 857 (Pa.Cmwlth 

1982). 
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 The phrase “preponderance of evidence” has been defined as evidence which is of  
greater weight or more convincing than evidence which is in opposition to it.  Black’s Law 

Dictionary, Fifth Edition, West Publishing Company, Copyright 1979, Page 1064. 

 

 It is within my province, and is part of my responsibility to determine the credibility of 
witnesses and the weight to be given to their testimony.  State Correctional Institute v. 

Robinson, 561 A.2d 82 (Pa.Cmwlth 1989).  I may give testimony such consideration as it may 

deserve, and accept it or reject it in whole or in part.  McFarland Landscape Service v. 

Workmen’s Comp. Bd. Of Appeal, 557 A.2d 816, 817-18 (Pa.Cmwlth 1989); Hollenbach v. 

North Wales Foundry Co., 136 A.2d 148, 150 (Pa.Super 1957). 

 

 I find the testimony of the witnesses presented by the Bureau of Enforcement to be highly 

credible and I give that testimony great weight.  The cumulative testimony of these witnesses 

establishes that the minor in question presented her valid Pennsylvania Driver’s license showing 

her to be under the age of 21 years. 

 

 In any event, even if the minor had shown another driver’s license showing her to be 21 

years of age as alleged by Licensee’s bartender, it has been established that the only defense to 

serving a minor is by complying with the provisions of Section 495 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 

§4-495].  That Section requires that a licensee must either use an electronic swipe machine, or 

require the suspected individual to fill out a Declaration of Age card and sign it, or to make a 

photocopy of the license in question.  None of these things was done in this case.  Therefore, 

even if the minor had presented a photo identification showing her to be over the age of 21 years, 

Licensee did not comply with any of the options provided in Section 495 of the Liquor Code 

(supra). 

 

 Based on the foregoing, I conclude that the Bureau has met its burden and Count 1 of the 

Citation is sustained. 

 

COUNT 2 

 

 The record clearly establishes that on the dates set forth in Count 2 of the citation the 

officer heard music amplified through loudspeakers emanating from the licensed premises.  

Under these circumstances, it is clear that a violation on each of these dates has been established, 

and Count 2 of the citation is sustained. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since April 28, 1994, and has had one prior violation: 

 

 Citation No.  96-0213.  Fine $1,000.00. 

 1. Sales to visibly intoxicated persons. 
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PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in Count 1 of this case. 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in Count 2 of this case. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be as follows: 

 

  Count 1 - $1,250.00 fine and RAMP training 

  Count 2 - $   350.00 fine 

 

ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee WATERING TROUGH, INC., pay a 

fine of $1,600.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the 

aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s 

license shall be suspended or revoked. 

 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth 

in Liquor Code Section 471.1, pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following 

manner.  Licensee is directed to initiate contact with The Bureau of Alcohol Education, 

Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (Toll Free Telephone No.: 1-866-275-8237; Web Site: 

www.lcb.state.pa.us;  Email Address: LBEducation@state.pa.us) within 30 days of the mailing 

date of this Adjudication.  Licensee must receive Certification within 90 days of the mailing date 

of this Adjudication.  Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the date 

such Certification is issued.   

 

 Failure to comply with this Order will be grounds for modification of penalty in this case.  

Failure to comply may also constitute grounds for issuance of a new citation as authorized by 

Section 471(d) of the liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471(d)]. 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained pending final resolution of the penalty in this matter. 

 

Dated this 29th day of November, 2007. 

 

 

 

                                                           

        Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J. 

an 

http://www.lcb.state.pa.us/
mailto:LBEducation@state.pa.us
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MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN  15 DAYS OF 

THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER IN THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE 

LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR 

RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE. 

 

Detach here and submit stub with payment 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check or Certified Check.  

Personal checks, which includes business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  Make  

check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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