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OPINION

MCW, Inc. t/a Allegheny House (“Licensee”) appealed from the
Second Supplemental Order of Administrative Law Judge Daniel T. Flaherty
(“ALJ”), wherein the AL] revoked the subject license effective February 20,

2007.



The citation charged that, on March 26, 2006, Licensee, by its
servants, agents or employees, violated section 5.32(a) of the Liquor Control
Board’s (“Board”) Regulations [40 Pa. Code § 5.32(a)] by using, or
permitting to be used on the inside (or outside) of the licensed premises, a
loudspeaker or similar device whereby the sound of music or other
entertainment, or the advertisement thereof, could be heard outside.

Pursuant to section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471], the
appeal in this case must be based solely on the record before the AL]. The
Board shall only reverse the decision of the AL] if the AL] committed an
error of law or abused his discretion, or if his decision was not based upon
substantial evidence. The Commonwealth Court defined "substantial
evidence" to be such relevant evidence as a reasonable person might accept as

adequate to support a conclusion. Joy Global, Inc. v. Workers'

Compensation Appeal Bd. (Hogue), 876 A.2d 1098 (Pa. Cmwlith. 2005);

Chapman v. Pennsylvania Bd. of Probation and Parole, 86 Pa. Cmwlith. 49,

484 A.2d 413 (1984).
A review of the record in this matter reveals that a Notice of Violation
letter dated April 14, 2006 was sent certified mail to Licensee’s address of

record, 253-255 Allegheny Street, Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania, but was
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returned May 5, 2006 as “unclaimed.” (N.T. 4-6; Exs. C-1, C-2). The
citation, however, was issued to Licensee on May 11, 2006 at its address of
record, 253-255 Allegheny Street, Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania. (Admin.
Notice). The citation was received at that address, was signed for by
Licensee’s president, Daren Weaver, and the certified mailing return receipt
card was returned May 18, 2006. (N.T. 4-6; Exs. C-3, C-4). The citation
hearing notice dated July 7, 2006 was also sent to Licensee’s address of
record, 253-255 Allegheny Street, Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania, via certified
and first class mail. (N.T. 4-5; Admin. Notice). The hearing notice was not
returned, yet Licensee failed to appear at the hearing before the AL]J.
(Admin. Notice).

On October 26, 2006, the AL] mailed its Adjudication and Order to
Licensee’s address of record, 253-255 Allegheny Street, Jersey Shore,
Pennsylvania, wherein the AL] imposed a fine of five hundred dollars
($500.00). (Admin. Notice). The Order provided that, “[i]n the event the
. . . fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order,
Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked.” (Admin. Notice).

On December 8, 2006, the fine having not been paid, the AL] mailed

a Supplemental Order imposing a one (1)-day license suspension, beginning
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on February 2, 2006 and continuing thereafter until the fine was paid.
(Admin. Notice). The Supplemental Order was mailed to Licensee’s address
of record, 253-255 Allegheny Street, Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania. (Admin.
Notice). The Supplemental Order provided that if “the fine of $500.00 has
not been paid within 60 days of the mailing date of this Order,” the penalty
would be reevaluated and revocation of the license considered. (Admin.
Notice).

On February 20, 2007, the AL] mailed a Second Supplemental Order
to Licensee’s address of record, 253-255 Allegheny Street, Jersey Shore,
Pennsylvania. (Admin. Notice). The Second Supplemental Order
acknowledged that the sixty (60) days had elapsed, and that the fine had not
yet been paid. (Admin. Notice). The AL], therefore, ordered that the
license be revoked effective February 20, 2007, the mailing date of the
Supplemental Order. (Admin. Notice).

Licensee’s counsel filed an appeal with the Board on March 16, 2007,
stating that Licensee’s business is not operating as a licensed establishment,
and that a Notice of Suspension has been posted. Licensee stated that a
transfer of the license is pending, having been filed on February 14, 2007,

prior to the Second Supplemental Order being mailed. Finally, Licensee
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acknowledged that it is willing and able to pay the fine of five hundred
($500.00) dollars within five (5) business days.

In as much as section 17.21(b)(2) of the Board’s Regulations [40 Pa.
Code § 17.21(b)(2)] sets forth that appeals from decisions of the AL] shall
be filed or postmarked within thirty (30) calendar days of the mailing date of
the adjudication, Licensee’s appeal must be considered untimely as an appeal
of the AL)’s Adjudication and Order issued on October 26, 2006.
However, Licensee appears to have fashioned its appeal as an appeal from the
Second Supplemental Order. As the ALJ’s Second Supplemental Order
revoking the license was mailed on February 20, 2007, Licensee’s appeal
dated March 16, 2007 is deemed timely.

The circumstances set forth in Licensee’s appeal fail to in any way
substantiate an error of law or abuse of discretion by the AL] in revoking the
subject license. Notwithstanding the fact that Licensee provides no reasons
for its failure to pay the fine within the timeframes set forth in the AL]’s
initial Order and Supplemental Order, the imposition of penalties for
violations of the Liquor Code and the Regulations promulgated thereunder
specifically prescribed in section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471]

is the exclusive prerogative of the AL]. Section 471(b) provides that, upon a
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finding of a violation of the type found in this case, the AL] shall suspend or
revoke a license or impose a fine of not less than fifty ($50.00) or more than
one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), or both. [47 P.S. § 4-471(b)]. “In the
event the fine is not paid within twenty days of the adjudication, the
administrative law judge shall suspend or revoke the license, notifying the
licensee by registered mail addressed to the licensed premises.” [47 P.S. § 4-
471(b)].

In the instant case, the AL] imposed a fine of five hundred dollars
($500.00) after a hearing at which Licensee failed to appear. Licensee failed
to pay the fine imposed despite two (2) subsequent orders from the AL] to
do so. The AL] ultimately revoked Licensee’s license for failure to pay the
fine more than one hundred twenty (120) days after the fine was imposed.
This penalty falls within the requirements of Liquor Code section 471.
Because the Board has no authority to disturb penalties that are within the

parameters set forth in the Liquor Code, the decision of the AL] is affirmed.



ORDER

The decision of the AL] is affirmed.

The appeal of Licensee is dismissed.

It is hereby ordered that Licensee’s Hotel License No. H-894 be
REVOKED effective at 7:00 a.m. on Monday, June 18, 2007. Any
Wholesale Liquor Purchase Permit card or discount card issued in connection
with the subject license is hereby CANCELLED.

Licensee must adhere to all conditions set forth in the AL]’s Second

Supplemental Order dated February 12, 2007.

Board Secretary



