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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on May 31, 2006, by the Bureau 

of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against Jakes Tavern, 

Inc., t/a Jakes (Licensee), License Number R-AP-SS-928. 



JAKES TAVERN, INC.  

CITATION NO. 06-1322X  PAGE 2 

 

 

 

 

  The citation1 charges Licensee with a violation of Section 493(26) of the Liquor Code 

[47 P.S. §4-493(26)].  The charge is that Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, issued 

checks or drafts dated April 7, 2006, in payment for purchases of malt or brewed beverages, 

when Licensee had insufficient funds in, or credit with, the institution upon which drawn for the 

payment of such checks. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on September 7, 2006 at the Scranton State Office 

Building, PUC Hearing Room 318, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania.  Licensee 

did not appear personally or by representation. 

 

 After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law are entered. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. A citation hearing notice was mailed by the Office of Administrative Law Judge 

on July 21, 2006 to Licensee by both certified receipt-return mail and first-class mail to the 

licensed premises.  The notice notified Licensee of the date, time and place of the hearing.  The 

Notice, sent by certified mail and signed for by Stephen Krajewski.  On July 24, 2006, I issued a 

Pre-Hearing Order directing Licensee to submit its pre-hearing memorandum.  That Order 

reiterated the date, time and place of hearing. 

 

2. The Bureau began its investigation on May 1, 2006 and completed it on May 3, 

2006.  (N.T. 7) 

 

 3. The Bureau sent a notice of an alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail-return receipt requested on May 10, 2006.  The notice alleged a 

violation as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 9) 

 

 4. On April 7, 2006, Licensee issued two checks to two separate Importing 

Distributors for the purchase of beer.  Both checks were dishonored due to insufficient funds.  

Neither check was not made good within ten days.  (N.T. 7-8) 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The citation is sustained as charged. 

 

 

                             

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2, N.T. 9. 



JAKES TAVERN, INC.  

CITATION NO. 06-1322X  PAGE 3 

 

 

 

 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since November 8, 2005, and has had one prior violation 

(Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-3, N.T. 9): 

 

 Adjudication No. 06-0320.  Fine $250.00. 

 1. Failed to require patrons to vacate the 

  premises not later than one-half hour after 

  the required time. 

  January 21, 2006. 

 2. Permitted patrons to possess and/or remove 

  alcoholic beverages after 2:30 A.M. 

  January 21, 2006. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Although Licensee did not appear at the hearing, there was communication between 

Bureau counsel and Licensee that it was Licensee’s intention to waive but an automobile 

accident delayed submitting the documentation.  Accordingly, I impose a $200.00 fine. 

 

ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Fine 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $200.00 within 20 days of 

the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days 

from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked. 

 

 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money 

Order.  Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  

Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:  

 

PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110-9661 
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Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this     5th      day of October, 2006. 

 

 

                                                                                                                  

                                                                              Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

pm 

 

 MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 

DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A 

WRITTEN REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE 

FILING FEE. 


