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BEFORE:  JUDGE  SHENKLE 

 

 

APPEARANCES: 

For Bureau of Enforcement:  Erik S. Shmukler, Esq. 

For Licensee:  Edward B. McHugh, Esq. 

 

ADJUDICATION 

BACKGROUND: 

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this 

citation on June 21, 2006.  The citation alleges that Licensee violated §5.32(a) of the Liquor 

Control Board Regulations, 40 Pa. Code §5.32(a), on February 17, 25, March 3 and 25, 2006, by 

permitting the use on the inside of the licensed premises of a loudspeaker or similar device 

whereby the sound of music or other entertainment, or the advertisement thereof, could be heard 

outside. 

A hearing was held on February 13, 2007 in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania.  The 

parties stipulated to the timely service of the notice letter and the citation. 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

1. Liquor Enforcement Officer Julie Kohler visited the licensed premises on February 

18, 19, 23, March 4, and April 1, 2006, on each occasion found it to be closed.  On April 28, 

2006, she inspected the premises and asked the manager for a schedule of events held during the 

period February through April, 2006.  Officer Kohler saw the premises is fairly large, and 

equipped with loudspeakers in various sizes throughout (N.T. 6-8). 

2. On February 17, 25, March 3 and 25, 2006, Licensee held events at its premises at 

which disk jockeys provided entertainment (N.T. 10-11, Exhibit B-3). 

3. M.J. Czerpak-Paisley lived at 4411 Baker Street, near the licensed premises, during 

the period which includes February 17, 25, March 3 and 25, 2006.  On each of those dates she 

heard loud music inside her home emanating from the licensed premises (N.T. 25-32). 
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4. In response to these complaints, Licensee installed soundproofing at the premises and 

engaged the services of an acoustic consultant to assist it in preventing any recurrence of these 

complaints (N.T. 45-48, Exhibits L-2 and L-3) 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Sustained as charged. 

DISCUSSION: 

I find that Licensee’s record of events held at the premises is admissible as the business 

record of a party, and that it was relevant to this case. 

PRIOR RECORD: 

Licensee has been licensed since May 7, 2003, and has had no prior violations.              

PENALTY: 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine in the $50.00 to $1,000.00 range, or both, for violations of the 

type found in this case. 

ORDER 

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, Station Liquor, LLC, License No. 

R-AP-SS-1095, pay a fine of three hundred dollars ($300.00) within 20 days of the mailing date 

of this order.  In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s license wi ll be 

suspended or revoked.  Jurisdiction is retained. 

The fine must be paid by treasurer’s check, cashier’s check, certified check or money 

order. Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  

Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 

 

Dated this    24th    day of __August__, 2007. 

  

 

      

                                                   

jb  David L. Shenkle, J. 

 
NOTICE:  MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN 

WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE. 


