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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on July 11, 2006, by the Bureau of 

Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against Route 115 

Restaurant Co., Inc., t/a The Village Squire (Licensee), License Number R-SS-10163. 
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  The citation1 charges Licensee with a violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(1)].  The charge is that on June 8, 2006, Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, 

sold, furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to 

one (1) male minor, nineteen (19) years of age. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on December 15, 2006 at the Scranton State 

Office Building, PUC Hearing Room 318, Scranton, Pennsylvania.  Licensee was represented by 

its Corporate Officer, Mr. Morgan Dale. 

 

 After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law are entered. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Bureau began its investigation on June 8, 2006 and completed it on June 13, 

2006.  (N.T. 10) 

 

 2. The Bureau sent a notice of an alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail-return receipt requested on June 19, 2006.  The notice alleged a 

violation as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 10) 

 

 3. Pursuant to authority vested in the Bureau and the Pennsylvania Crimes Code (18 

Pa. C.S. §6308), the Bureau engaged in an Age Compliance Check on June 8, 2006.  A Bureau 

Enforcement Officer was present on the licensed premises at about 7:45 p.m., in an undercover 

capacity.  (N.T. 7-14) 

 

 4. The Officer watched the underage purchaser enter the premises at about 8:00 p.m.  

The underage purchaser ordered a twelve ounce bottle of beer.  The server requested 

identification.  The underage buyer displayed his Pennsylvania Driver’s license after which he 

was served beer.  The underage buyer departed the premises.  (N.T. 15-16) 

 

 5. A second Bureau Enforcement Officer entered the licensed premises and advised 

the barmaid that she was in non-compliance as she had served a minor.  (N.T. 17-18) 

 

 6. Subsequently, a Notice of Non-Compliance was sent to Licensee at the licensed 

premises on June 13, 2006 (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-3).  (N.T. 18) 

 

 7. The underage purchaser was born on May 16, 1987, thus making him 19 years of 

age on the date in question.  (N.T. 26-28) 

 

 

 

                                  

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2, N.T. 12. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The citation is sustained as charged. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since April 28, 1995, and has had no prior violations. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 As this is Licensee’s first violation in approximately eleven years, I impose a $1,000.00 

fine.  I also order Licensee to comply with the requirements set forth in Liquor Code Section 

471.1 [47 P.S. §4-471.1], pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management, for a period of one 

year. 

 

ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Fine 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $1,000.00 within 20 days 

of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days 

from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked. 

 

 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money 

Order.  Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  

Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:  

 

PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110-9661 
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R.A.M.P. Requirements 

 

 IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth 

in Liquor Code Section 471.1 pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following 

manner.  Licensee is directed to initiate contact with The Bureau of Alcohol Education, 

Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (Toll Free Telephone No.: 1-866-275-8237; Web Site: 

www.lcb.state.pa.us; Email Address: LBEducation@state.pa.us), within 30 days of the mailing 

date of this Adjudication for assistance in the compliance process.  Licensee must receive 

Certification within 90 days of the mailing date of this Adjudication.  Licensee must remain in 

compliance for a period of one year from the date such Certification was issued. 

 

Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this  24th  day of January, 2007. 

 

 

                                                                                                                  

                                                                              Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

pm 

 

 MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 

DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A 

WRITTEN REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE 

FILING FEE. 

http://www.lcb.state.pa.us/
mailto:LBEducation@state.pa.us

