Mailing Date: MAR 28 2007

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
FOR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE :
POLICE, BUREAU OF : Citation Nos.  06-1692

LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT : & 06-2366C
: (consolidated for adjudication only)
V.
X Incident Nos.  WO01-332949
CAPOZZOLI BAR CORPORATION : W01-338720
1200 E PASSYUNK AVE X
PHILADELPHIA PA 19147-5013 : LID - 17430

PHILADELPHIA COUNTY :
LICENSE NO. R-AP-OPS-15577 : BEFORE: JUDGE SHENKLE

APPEARANCES:
For Bureau of Enforcement: James E. Dailey, Esqg.
For Licensee: Louis Capozzoli (president)

ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued these
citations on July 17 and October 11, 2006, respectively. The citations allege as follows:

CITATION NO. 06-1692

This citation alleges that Licensee violated 8§5.32(a) of the Liquor Control Board
Regulations, 40 Pa. Code 85.32(a), on May 20 and June 16, 2006, by permitting the use on the
inside of the licensed premises of a loudspeaker or similar device whereby the sound of music or
other entertainment, or the advertisement thereof, could be heard outside.

CITATION NO. 06-2366C

This citation alleges that Licensee violated 8§8493(1) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-
493(1), on August 24, 2006, by selling, furnishing, and/or giving or permitting such sale,
furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one male minor, nineteen years of age.

A hearing was held on Wednesday, January 10, 2007, in Plymouth Meeting,
Pennsylvania. The parties stipulated to the timely service of the notice letters and the citations.



Capozzoli Bar Corporation Page 2
Citation Nos. 06-1692 & 06-2366C (consolidated for adjudication only)

FINDINGS OF FACT:

CITATION NO. 06-1692

1. Liquor Enforcement Officer John Conner entered the licensed premises at about 8:45
p.m. on May 20, 2006. At about 9:05 p.m. a band called “Three Eyed Jacks” began to play,
using loudspeakers. The band was still playing when the officer left at 9:35, and he could hear it
as far away as 120 feet from the premises (N.T. 5-7).

2. Officer John Conner returned to the licensed premises at about 11:00 p.m. on June 16,
2006. A Karaoke DJ began to provide entertainment, using loudspeakers. The music could be
heard outside, as far away as 120 feet from the premises (N.T. 9-11).

CITATION NO. 06-2366C

On August 24, 2006, a young man whose birth date was January 31, 1987, purchased
beer in the licensed premises. His age was not questioned.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

Both citations are sustained as charged.

NOTICE OF ASSESSMENT OF POINTS PURSUANT TO ACT 239 OF 2004

Section 479 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-479, establishes a numerical system for use in
cities of the first class. Every restaurant and eating place licensee in cities of the first class who
has been cited for a violation of 8471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-471, on or after February 6,
2005, must have points assessed as of the date of the final adjudication. Points are in addition to
other provisions of the Liquor Code regarding license transfer and renewal. Points are required
to be assigned in addition to a monetary penalty and/or suspension and/or revocation of the
license by the administrative law judge.

An enhanced penalty violation requires that the administrative law judge assign five to
ten points, depending upon the circumstances surrounding the violation, to a license record, for
each and every enhanced penalty violation. The Board has by regulation established a point
system ranging from one to five points for other violations of the Liquor Code and Regulations
not specifically set forth in 8479.

Section 481(a), 47 P.S. 84-481(a) provides that when any license accumulates ten points
or more, the administrative law judge must require the license holder to become compliant with
and remain compliant with the provisions of 8471.1, 47 P.S. 8§4-471.1, relating to the
Responsible Alcohol Management Program (R.A.M.P.). Failure to comply with such an order
within ninety days will result in two additional points being assessed against the license record.

Section 481(b), 47 P.S. 8§4-481(b) provides that when any license accumulates fifteen
points or more, the administrative law judge must place the license in safekeeping. The license
can only be removed from safekeeping upon approval by the board of a transfer to a disinterested
third party. Upon completion of the transfer, the points assigned to it will be reduced to ten. If,
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within ninety days of the transfer the new owner voluntarily becomes compliant with and
remains compliant with the responsible alcohol management provisions of 8471.1, two
additional points will be removed from the license record.

Notwithstanding other provisions of the Act, 8481(c), 47 P.S. 84-481(c), provides that
when any license accumulates twenty or more points in more than one citation, the
administrative law judge must revoke the license.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since February 8, 1975, and has had prior violations since
July 1, 1987, the date of establishment of the Office of Administrative Law Judge, as follows:

Citation No. 95-2284. $500.00 fine.
1. Sold liguor for consumption off premises.
2. Sold alcoholic beverages on credit.

Citation No. 05-0602. $200.00 fine.
1. Sold liquor for consumption off premises. January 15, 2005.

PENALTY:

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-471, prescribes a penalty of license
suspension or revocation or a fine, or both, for violations of the type found in these cases. For
violations of the type found in Citation No. 06-1692, any fine must be in the $50.00 to $1,000.00
range. For violations of the type found in Citation No. 06-2366, any fine must be in the
$1,000.00 to $5,000.00 range.

I consider Licensee’s immediate response to the problems reflected in these citations to
be a mitigating factor. Licensee became certified under the provisions of 47 P.S. §4-471.1 on
November 28, 2006.

Penalties are assessed as follows:

Citation No. 06-1692 — a fine of $200.00 and one point under Act 239.
Citation No. 06-2366C — a fine of $1,000.00 and five points under Act 239.

ORDER

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, Capozzoli Bar Corporation,
License No. R-AP-OPS-15577, shall pay fines totaling twelve hundred dollars ($1,200.00)
within 20 days of the mailing date of this order. In the event the fines are not paid within 20
days, Licensee’s license will be suspended or revoked. Jurisdiction is retained.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that a total of six (6) points are hereby assessed against the
record of Licensee, Capozzoli Bar Corporation, License No. R-AP-OPS-15577, as required by
40 Pa. Code 83.122(d) and 47 P.S. 8479(b)(1).
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The fines must be paid by treasurer’s check, cashier’s check, certified check or money
order. Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable.
Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661

Dated this 19" day of March, 2007.

David L. Shenkle, J.

jib

NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN
WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS
AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.



