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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on August 29, 2006, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against The 

Aspen Street Corporation (Licensee), License Number R-AP-SS-EHF-7914. 
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  The citation1 charges Licensee with violations of Section 493(26) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(26)].  The charge is that Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, issued checks or 

drafts dated April 18 and 25, 2006, in payment for purchases of malt or brewed beverages, when 

Licensee had insufficient funds in, or credit with, the institution upon which drawn for the 

payment of such checks. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on January 22, 2007 at the Philadelphia State 

Office Building, 1400 West Spring Garden Street, 13th Floor, Room #1, Philadelphia, 

Pennsylvania. 

 

 This matter was presented into the record by way of Stipulations of Fact. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Bureau began its investigation on March 27, 2006 and completed it 

on August 1, 2006.  (N.T. 4) 

 

 2. The Bureau sent a notice of alleged violations to Licensee at the licensed premises 

by certified mail-return receipt requested on August 8, 2006.  The notice alleged violations as 

charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. B-1 

 

 3. On the dates charged, Licensee issued two checks totaling $2,080.93 to Antonio 

Origlio, Inc., for payment of beer which were dishonored due to insufficient funds.  One of the 

two checks was made good within ten days. 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The citation is sustained as charged. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                             

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. B-2. 
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PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since August 29, 1984, and has had four prior violation(s) 

since July 1, 1987, the date of establishment of the Office of Administrative Law Judge: 

 

Adjudication No. 87-2106.  $400.00 fine. 

1. Failed to notify the Board within 30 days of a change of officers. 

2. Supplied false information on Form PLCB-866. 

3. Supplied false information on application for restaurant liquor license. 

 

Adjudication No. 90-2121.  $250.00 fine. 

Failed to notify the Board within 15 days of a change of officers. 

 

Adjudication No. 96-2098.  $500.00 fine. 

1. Pecuniary interest. 

2. Failed to provide the Board with information regarding the involvement of J. Z., 

Inc. in the operation of the licensed business.             

 

Adjudication No. 04-0214.  $1,200.00 fine. 

      1.   Permitted patrons to possess alcoholic beverages after 2:30 A.M. 

            January 3, 2004. 

      2.   Sales between 2:00 A.M. and 7:00 A.M. 

            January 3, 2004. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

NOTICE OF ASSESSMENT OF POINTS PURSUANT TO ACT 239 OF 2004 

 

 Section 479 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-479], establishes a numerical system for use 

in cities of the first class.  Every restaurant and eating place licensee in cities of the first class 

who has been cited for a violation of §471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471], on or after 

February 6, 2005, must have points assessed as of the date of the final adjudication.  Points are in 

addition to other provisions of the Liquor Code regarding license transfer and renewal.  Points 

are required to be assigned in addition to a monetary penalty and/or suspension and/or revocation 

the license by the administrative law judge. 
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 An enhanced penalty violation requires that the Administrative Law Judge assign five to 

ten points, depending upon the circumstances surrounding the violation, to a license record for 

each and every enhanced penalty violation.  The Board has by regulation established a point 

system ranging from one to five points for other violations of the Liquor Code and Regulations 

not specifically set forth in §479. 

 

 Section 481(a) [47 P.S. §4-481(a)], provides that when any license accumulates ten 

points or more, the administrative law judge must require the license holder to become compliant 

with and remain compliant with the provisions of §471.1 [47 P.S. §4-471.1], relating to the 

Responsible Alcohol Management Program (R.A.M.P.).  Failure to comply with such an order 

within ninety days shall result in two additional points being assessed against the license record.   

 

 Section 481(b) [47 P.S. §4-481(b)], provides that when any license accumulates fifteen 

points or more, the administrative law judge must place the license in safekeeping.  The license 

can only be removed from safekeeping upon approval by the board of a transfer to a disinterested 

third party.  Upon completion of the transfer, the points assigned to it will be reduced to ten.  If, 

within ninety days of the transfer he new owner voluntarily becomes compliant with and remains 

compliant with the responsible alcohol management provisions of 471.1, two additional points 

will be removed from the license record. 

 

 Notwithstanding other provisions of the Act, §481(c) [47 P.S. §4-481(c)], provides that 

when any license accumulates twenty or more points in more than one citation, the 

Administrative Law Judge must revoke the license. 

 

 Accordingly, you are hereby notified that one point has been assigned to your record. 

 

 I also adopt the jointly recommended penalty of a $150.00 fine. 

 

ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Fine 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $150.00 within 20 days of 

the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days 

from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked. 

 

 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money 

Order.  Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  

Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:  

 

PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110-9661 



THE ASPEN STREET CORPORATION 

CITATION NO. 06-2016X  PAGE 5 

 

 

 

Assessment of Points 

 

 IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that one (1) point is hereby assessed against the record of 

The Aspen Street Corporation, License No.R-AP-SS-EHF-7914, as required by 40 Pa. Code 

§3.122(d). 

 

Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this 20th day of February, 2007. 

 

 

                                                                                                                  

                                                                              Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

pm 

 

 MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 

DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A 

WRITTEN REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE 

FILING FEE. 


