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ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on September 5, 2006, by the
Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”)
against STWA, LLC, License Number R-AP-SS-2200 (hereinafter “Licensee”).

The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 493(26) of the Liquor Code [47
P.S. 8§4-493(26)] in that Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, issued checks or drafts
dated June 23, 2006, in payment for purchases of malt or brewed beverages, when it had
insufficient funds in, or credit with, the institution upon which drawn for the payment of such
checks.
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The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on July 27, 2006 and was
completed on August 2, 2006; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified Mail
on August 15, 2006. The notice of violation was received by Licensee.

An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on November 13, 2006 in the Office of
Administrative Law Judge, 140 West Germantown Pike, Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania.
Licensee(s) did not appear at the hearing, nor did anyone appear on its behalf. A citation hearing
notice was sent to Licensee(s) at its address of record, 429 South Street, Philadelphia, PA 19147-
1532 by certified mail, return receipt requested and by first class mail on October 23, 2006. The
notice set forth the date and time of the hearing as December 5, 2006 at 11:30 p.m., and the place
of hearing as 140 W. Germantown Pike, Suite 100, Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462-1421. A
citation hearing notice was sent to Licensee at its address of record, 429 South Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19147-1532 by certified mail, return receipt requested and by first class mail on
November 2, 2006 changing the hearing date and time only to November 13, 2006 at 2:30 p.m.

Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and
reach the following Conclusions of Law:

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On June 23, 2006 Licensee purchased malt or brewed beverages from Muller, Inc.
(N.T. 13 and Exhibit B-3).

2. In payment therefore, Licensee issued its check in the amount of $523.37. The
aforementioned check was returned by Licensee’s bank for insufficient funds (N.T. 12 and
Exhibit B-3).

3. The aforementioned check was the third NSF Check issued by Licensee to
Muller, Inc. during the calendar year 2006 (N.T. 10).

CONCLUSION OF LAW:

The charge in the citation is sustained.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since November 1, 2004, and has had two prior violations:

Citation No. 05-1087. Fine $100.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. April 1, 2005.
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Citation No. 05-2383. Fine $150.00 and 1 point assessed.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. August 19, 2005.

NOTICE OF ASSESSMENT OF POINTS PURSUANT TO ACT 239, 2004

Section 479 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 8§4-479] establishes a numerical system for use
in cities of the first class. Every restaurant and eating place licensee in cities of the first class
who have been cited for a violation of Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 84-471] on or
after February 6, 2005, shall have points assessed as of the date of the final Adjudication. Points
are in addition to other provisions of this Act for license transfer and renewal. Points shall be
assigned in addition to the imposition of a monetary penalty and/or suspension and/or revocation
of the license by the Administrative Law Judge.

An enhanced penalty violation requires that the Administrative Law Judge assign five to
ten points, depending upon the circumstances surrounding the violation, to a license record for
each and every enhanced penalty violation. The Board has by regulation established a point
system ranging from one to five points for other violations of the Liquor Code and Regulations
not specifically set forth in Section 479.

Section 481(a) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 84-481(a)] provides that when any license
accumulates ten points or more, the Administrative Law Judge shall require the license holder to
become compliant with and remain compliant with the provisions of Section 471.1 [47 P.S. 84-
471.1] relating to the Responsible Alcohol Management Program (R.A.M.P.). Failure to comply
with such an Order within ninety days shall result in two additional points being assessed against
the license record.

Section 481(b) [47 P.S. 84-481(b)] provides that when any license accumulates fifteen
points or more, the Administrative Law Judge shall place the license in safekeeping. The license
can only be removed from safekeeping upon approval by the Board of a transfer to a
disinterested third party. Upon completion of the transfer, the points assigned to it will be
reduced to ten. If, within ninety days of the transfer the new owner voluntarily becomes
compliant with and remains compliant with the Responsible Alcohol Management provisions of
Section 471.1, two additional points shall be removed from the license record.

Notwithstanding other provisions of this Act, Section 481(c) [47 P.S. 84-481(c)] provides
that when any license accumulates twenty or more points in more than one citation, the
Administrative Law Judge shall revoke the license.

PENALTY:
Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 84-471] prescribes a penalty of license

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for
violations of the type found in this case.
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Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be a fine of $250.00 and
1 point.

POINTS ASSESSED

Accordingly, you are hereby notified that one point(s) has been assigned to your record.

FINE IMPOSED

THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee STWA, LLC pay a fine of $250.00
within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order. In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid
within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or
revoked.

The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check or Certified Check.
Personal checks, which includes business-use personal checks, are not acceptable. Make
check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661

Jurisdiction is retained pending final resolution of the penalty in this matter.

Dated this 13" day of April, 2007.

Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J.
an

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 DAYS OF
THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER IN THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE
LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE. A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR
RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE.



