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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on September 19, 2006, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) 

against Milestone Pizza Pub, Inc., t/a Milestone Pizza Pub (Licensee), License Number R-AP-

10613. 
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  The citation1 charges Licensee with a violation of Section 5.32(a) of the Pennsylvania 

Liquor Control Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code §5.32(a)].  The charge is that on July 30, 2006, 

Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, used, or permitted to be used on the inside of its 

licensed premises, a loudspeaker, or similar device whereby the sound of music or other 

entertainment, or the advertisement thereof, could be heard outside. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on December 14, 2006 at the Scranton State 

Office Building, PUC Hearing Room 318, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania.  

Licensee did not appear personally nor have any representation present. 

 

 After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law are entered. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

 1. A citation hearing notice was mailed by the Office of Administrative Law Judge 

on October 27, 2006 to Licensee by both certified receipt-return mail and first-class mail to the 

licensed premises.  The notice notified Licensee of the date, time and place of the hearing.  The 

Notice, sent by certified mail, was returned as being marked not deliverable as addressed.  A 

copy of the notice was also mailed by first class mail to Colleen Flynn, 28 East Division Street, 

Apt. 4 Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702.  

 

 2. On October 31, 2006, I issued a Pre-Hearing Order to Licensee at the licensed 

premises address and to Colleen Flynn, 28 East Division Street, Apt. 4, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702, 

directing Licensee to submit its pre-hearing memorandum.  This Order reiterated the date, time 

and place of hearing. 

 

3. The Bureau began its investigation on July 10, 2006 and completed it on  

August 15, 2006.  (N.T. 55) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                            

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2, 06-2152, N.T. 55. 
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 4. The Bureau sent a notice of alleged violations to Licensee at the licensed premises 

by certified mail-return receipt requested on August 22, 2006.  The notice alleged violations as 

charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, 06-2152, N.T. 55) 

 

 5. On July 29, 2006, a Bureau Enforcement Officer arrived at the licensed premises 

at approximately 11:15 p.m.  The disc jockey was set up in the rear of the premises.  He was 

providing amplified music.  At 12:05 a.m., July 30, 2006, the Officer departed the premises.  He 

heard the music outside.  (N.T. 57-61) 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The citation is sustained as charged. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since April 5, 2001, and has had seven prior violations 

(Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-3): 

 

Adjudication No. 02-1117.  Fine $150.00.  Fine not paid and 

license suspended for 1 day and thereafter until fine paid. 

 Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could   

 be heard outside.   

May 31, 2002. 

 

Adjudication No. 02-2242.  Fine $75.00.  Fine not paid and license 

suspended for 1 day and thereafter until fine paid. 

 Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or   

 brewed beverages.   

July 6, 2002. 

 

Adjudication No. 03-0914.  Fine $350.00. 

 Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could   

 be heard outside.   

May 2 and 3, 2003. 
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Adjudication No. 03-1974.  Fine $450.00. 

 Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could   

 be heard outside.   

November 13, 2003. 

 

Adjudication No. 04-1994.  Fine $1800.00. 

 1.   Minor frequenting.   

      July 17, 2004. 

 2. Sales to a minor.   

July 17, 2004. 

 3. Discounted the price of alcoholic beverages in  

  excess of 2 hours in a business day.   

July 28, 2004. 

 

  Adjudication No. 05-2171.  Fine $2,050.00.  Fine not paid 

  And license suspended 5 days and thereafter until fine paid. 

   1. Failed to require patrons to vacate the 

    premises not later than one-half hour 

    after the required time. 

    September 17, 2005. 

   2. Permitted patrons to possess and/or remove 

    alcoholic beverages after 2:30 A.M. 

    September 17, 2005. 

   3. Permitted patrons to enter the premises between 

    2:30 A.M. and 7:00 A.M. when you did not 

    possess an extended hours food permit. 

    September 17, 2005. 

   4. Minors frequenting. 

    September 17, 2005. 



MILESTONE PIZZA PUB, INC. 

CITATION NO. 06-2152  PAGE 5 

 

 

 

 

 

 Adjudication No.  06-0963.  Fine $3,000.00 and 7 days suspension 

 with thereafter conditions.  Fine not paid and license revoked. 

   1. Licensed corporation was not the only one 

    pecuniarily interested in the operation of the 

    licensed business. 

    June 1, 2005 through March 13, 2006. 

   2. Paid for purchases of malt or brewed beverages 

    with other than cash or licensee’s check. 

    On 12 occasions between July 15 and 

    December 7, 2005. 

   3. Illegal use of Wholesale Liquor Purchase Permit Card. 

    On 25 occasions between June 6, 2005 and 

    February 22, 2006. 

   4. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or 

    brewed beverages. 

    On 12 dates between July 15 and December 7, 2005. 

   5. Failed to notify the Board within 15 days of a  

    change of manager. 

    June 1, 2005. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 As Licensee has failed to obey process, I will not interpose any mitigating circumstances.  

In fact, the failure to appear and/or obey process is a demonstration that Licensee does not take 

this process seriously.  Accordingly, I impose a $500.00 fine. 

 

ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Fine 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $500.00 within 20 days of 

the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days 

from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked. 
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 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money 

Order.  Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  

Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:  

 

PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110-9661 

 

Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this  24th  day of January, 2007. 

 

 

                                                                                                                  

                                                                              Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

pm 

 

 MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 

DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A 

WRITTEN REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE 

FILING FEE. 

 


