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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on November 3, 2006, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against Sailtae, 

Inc. (Licensee), License Number R-AP-SS-15183. 
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  The citation1 charges Licensee with violations of Section 5.32(a) of the Pennsylvania 

Liquor Control Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code §5.32(a)].  The charge is that on September 8 

and 21, 2006, Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, used, or permitted to be used on the 

inside or outside of its licensed premises, a loudspeaker or similar device whereby the sound of 

music or other entertainment, or the advertisement thereof, could be heard outside. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on March 14, 2007 at the Scranton State Office 

Building, PUC Hearing Room 318, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania.  Licensee 

did not appear personally nor had representation. 

 

 After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law are entered. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

 1. A citation hearing notice was mailed by the Office of Administrative Law Judge 

on January 26, 2007 to Licensee by both certified receipt-return mail and first-class mail to the 

licensed premises.  The notice notified Licensee of the date, time and place of the hearing.  The 

Notice, sent by certified mail, was returned as being marked “other.” (N.T. 4-5) 

 

 2. On January 26, 2007, I issued a Pre-Hearing Order by first class mail directing 

Licensee to submit its pre-hearing memorandum.  That Order reiterated the date, time and place 

of hearing.  (N.T. 4-5) 

 

3. The Bureau began its investigation on September 6, 2006 and completed it 

on September 23, 2006.  (N.T. 6) 

 

 4. The Bureau sent a notice of alleged violations to Licensee at the licensed premises 

by certified mail-return receipt requested on November 13, 2006.  The notice alleged violations 

as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, 06-2499, N.T. 9) 

 

 5. On September 8, 2006, a Bureau Enforcement Officer arrived in the area of the 

premises at about 9:55 p.m.  With the window down in his State vehicle, the Officer could hear 

music emanating from the premises.  The Officer also heard music as far away as 300 feet from 

the premises.  The Officer entered the premises and determined the music was being provided by 

a computerized, electronic system.  (N.T. 9-13) 

 

 6. A Bureau Enforcement Officer returned to the premises at about 8:45 p.m., on 

September 21, 2006, making similar observations as the prior visit.  (N.T. 14-17) 

 

                          

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2, 06-2499, N.T. 9. 



SAILTAE, INC.  

CITATION NO. 06-2499  PAGE 3 

 

 

 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The citation is sustained as charged. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since September 16, 2004, and has had four prior violations 

(Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-4, N.T. 23): 

 

 Adjudication No. 05-0172.  Fine $1,250.00. 

 Sales to a visibly intoxicated person. 

   January 9, 2005. 

 

  Adjudication No. 05-0571.  Fine $550.00. 

   Possessed or operated gambling devices or 

   paraphernalia or permitted gambling or lotteries, 

   poolselling and/or bookmaking on your licensed 

   premises (machines). 

   February 6, 2005. 

 

  Adjudication No. 05-1268.  Fine $350.00. 

   Advertised or permitted to be advertised in print 

   alcoholic beverages within 300 feet of a 

   church, school or public playground. 

   May 23 and 27, 2005. 

 

 Adjudication No.  06-1298.  Fine $150.00. 

   Issued worthless checks in payment for malt 

   or brewed beverages. 

   March 16, 2006. 
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PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 As Licensee has failed to appear at the hearing and obey process, I impose a $1,000.00 

fine. 

 

ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Fine 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $1,000.00 within 20 days 

of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days 

from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked. 

 

 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money 

Order.  Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  

Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110-9661 

 

Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this 3rd day of April, 2007. 

 

 

                                                                                                                  

                                                                              Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

pm 

 

 MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 

DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A 

WRITTEN REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE 

FILING FEE. 


