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COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA  

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE  

FOR  

PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD  

  

PENNSYLVANIA STATE  :    

POLICE, BUREAU OF  :  Citation No. 06-2642  

LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT  :  

   :  Incident No. W01-340689   

 v.  :    

   :  LID - 37905  

BANK STREET LIMITED     : 

  PARTNERSHIP     : 

  1-3-5-7 BANK ST. AND    : 

  230 MARKET ST.     : 

        : 

PHILADELPHIA, PA 19106-2825  :   : 

PHILADELPHIA COUNTY  : LICENSE NO. 

R-AP-SS-384      :  

  

  

BEFORE:  JUDGE  THAU  

  

  

APPEARANCES:  

  

For Bureau of Enforcement  For Licensee  

Erik S. Shmukler, Esquire  Paul L. Herron, Esquire  

Pennsylvania State Police  1700 Market Street  

6901 Woodland Avenue  Suite 3112  

Philadelphia, PA 19142  Philadelphia, PA 19103-3914  

  

      

  

  

ADJUDICATION  

  

BACKGROUND:  

  

https://collab.pa.gov/lcb/Extranet/Adjudications%20and%20Appeals/06-2642A.pdf
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 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on November 21, 2006, by the Bureau of 

Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against Bank Street Limited 

Partnership (Licensee), License Number R-AP-SS-384.  

  

  

  The citation1 charges Licensee with a violation of Section 13.102(a)(3) of the Liquor Code [40 

Pa. Code §13.102(a)(3)].  The charge is that on October 12, 2006, Licensee, by servants, agents or 

employes, sold and/or served an unlimited or indefinite amount of alcoholic beverages for a fixed 

price, in that domestic beers and well drinks were served for the set price of $10.00.  

  

An evidentiary hearing was conducted on April 30, 2007 at the Philadelphia State Office 

Building, 1400 West Spring Garden Street, 13th Floor, Room #1, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 

Licensee’s Counsel submitted an Admission, Waiver and Authorization2 in which Licensee: admits 

to the violation charged in the citation and that the Bureau complied with the applicable 

investigatory and notice requirements of the Liquor Code, authorizes the Administrative Law 

Judge to enter an Adjudication based on a summary of facts and prior citation history as provided 

by the bureau, and waives the right to appeal this Adjudication.  

  

  The following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law are entered.  

  

FINDINGS OF FACT:  

  

 On October 12, 2006, at approximately 10:00 p.m., Bureau Enforcement Officers entered the 

licensed premises.  There was a scheduled promotion going on that evening.  The Officers received 

wrist bands, each paying $10.00.  From 10:00 p.m. to 12:00 midnight, anyone who paid the $10.00 

charge could drink as many alcoholic beverages as they wanted.  (N.T. 5-6)  

  

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:  

  

  The citation is sustained as charged.  

  

PRIOR RECORD:  

  

  Licensee has been licensed since July 8, 1996, and has had three prior violations:  

  

Adjudication No. 01-1392.  $1,200.00 fine.  

1. Sales between 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m.             May 12 

and 26, 2001.  

2. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises not later   than 

one-half hour after the required time.    

           May 26 and June 3, 2001.  
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3. Permitted patrons to possess and/or remove alcoholic 

beverages        after 2:30 a.m.  

            May 26, 2001.  

  

                            

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. B-2, N.T. 5.  

2. Judge’s Exhibit No. J-1, N.T. 4.  

  

   Adjudication No. 01-1719.  $50.00 fine.  

  Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or brewed beverages.          May 31, 

June 13 and July 5, 2001.              

  

      Adjudication No.  03-1901.  Fine $300.00.  

Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could be heard 

outside.  

           June 14 and 28, 2003.  

  

PENALTY:  

  

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license suspension or 

revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for violations of the 

type found in this case.  

NOTICE OF ASSESSMENT OF POINTS PURSUANT TO ACT 239 OF 2004  

  

 Section 479 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-479], establishes a numerical system for use in cities 

of the first class.  Every restaurant and eating place licensee in cities of the first class who has been 

cited for a violation of §471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471], on or after February 6, 2005, 

must have points assessed as of the date of the final adjudication.  Points are in addition to other 

provisions of the Liquor Code regarding license transfer and renewal.  Points are required to be 

assigned in addition to a monetary penalty and/or suspension and/or revocation the license by the 

administrative law judge.  

  

 An enhanced penalty violation requires that the Administrative Law Judge assign five to ten 

points, depending upon the circumstances surrounding the violation, to a license record for each 

and every enhanced penalty violation.  The Board has by regulation established a point system 

ranging from one to five points for other violations of the Liquor Code and Regulations not 

specifically set forth in §479.  

  

 Section 481(a) [47 P.S. §4-481(a)], provides that when any license accumulates ten points or 

more, the administrative law judge must require the license holder to become compliant with and 

remain compliant with the provisions of §471.1 [47 P.S. §4-471.1], relating to the Responsible 
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Alcohol Management Program (R.A.M.P.).  Failure to comply with such an order within ninety 

days shall result in two additional points being assessed against the license record.    

  

 Section 481(b) [47 P.S. §4-481(b)], provides that when any license accumulates fifteen points or 

more, the administrative law judge must place the license in safekeeping.  The license can only be 

removed from safekeeping upon approval by the board of a transfer to a disinterested third party.  

Upon completion of the transfer, the points assigned to it will be reduced to ten.  If, within ninety 

days of the transfer he new owner voluntarily becomes compliant with and remains compliant with 

the responsible alcohol management provisions of 471.1, two additional points will be removed 

from the license record.  

  

  

  

 Notwithstanding other provisions of the Act, §481(c) [47 P.S. §4-481(c)], provides that when any 

license accumulates twenty or more points in more than one citation, the Administrative Law Judge 

must revoke the license.  

  

  Accordingly, you are hereby notified that one point has been assigned to your record.  

  

  I adopt the jointly recommended penalty of a $400.00 fine.  

  

ORDER:  

  

Imposition of Fine  

  

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $400.00 within 20 days of the 

mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days from 

the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked.  

  

 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order.  

Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable.   

Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:  

  

PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge  

Brandywine Plaza  

2221 Paxton Church Road  

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110-9661  

  

Assessment of Points  

  

  IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that one (1) point is hereby assessed against the record of  

Bank Street Limited Partnership, License No. R-AP-SS-384, as required by 40 Pa. Code §3.122(d).  
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Retaining Jurisdiction  

  

  Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication.  

  

Dated this 30th day of May, 2007.  

  

  

                                                                                                                                                                                                

Felix Thau, A.L.J.  

  

pm  

  

 MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 DAYS OF 

THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR 

RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE.  


