Mailing Date: AUG 7 2007

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
FOR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE :
POLICE, BUREAU OF : Citation No. 06-2848C
LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT

Incident No. W01-339277

V.
LID - 44979
DOC’S UNION PUB INC
1843 S 2" ST
PHILADELPHIA PA 19148-1946
PHILADELPHIA COUNTY ;
LICENSE NO. R-AP-SS-EHF-OPS-8197 : BEFORE: JUDGE SHENKLE

APPEARANCES:
For Bureau of Enforcement: Erik S. Shmukler, Esq.
For Licensee: no appearance

ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this
citation on December 13, 2006. The citation alleges that Licensee violated 8493(1) of the Liquor
Code, 47 P.S. 84-493(1), on September 21, 2006, by selling, furnishing, and/or giving or
permitting such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one male minor, nineteen
years of age.

At the hearing scheduled for June 6, 2007, in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, there was
no appearance for the Licensee; therefore, the matter was heard ex parte.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. The Bureau investigated Licensee during the period September 5 through October 31,
2006, and sent written notice of the results of its investigation to the licensed premises by
certified mail on November 22, 2006 (N.T. 7-8, Exhibit B-1).

2. A copy of this citation was mailed to the licensed establishment by certified mail on
December 13, 2006 (N.T. 8-9, Exhibit B-2).

3. A Notice of Hearing was mailed to the licensed establishment by the Office of
Administrative Law Judge, Harrisburg, PA, by certified and first class mail on April 20, 2007.

4. On September 21, 2006, a man whose birth date was November 20, 1986, purchased
beer in the licensed premises. His age was not questioned (N.T. 10-11).



Doc’s Union Pub, Inc. Page 2
Citation No. 06-2848C

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

Sustained as charged.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since December 23, 1999, and has had one prior violation:

Citation No. 01-1545. $400.00 fine.
1. Operated without a health permit. April 28, 2001.

Citation No. 03-0871. $1,000.00 fine.
1. Salesto minors. February 8 and March 29, 2003.
2. Minors frequenting. February 8 and March 29, 2003.

PENALTY:

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-471, prescribes a penalty of license
suspension or revocation or a fine in the $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 range, or both, for violations of
the type found in this case.

ORDER

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, Doc’s Union Pub, Inc., License
No. R-AP-SS-EHF-OPS-8197, shall pay a fine of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00)
within 20 days of the mailing date of this order. In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days,
Licensee’s license will be suspended or revoked. Jurisdiction is retained.

The fine must be paid by treasurer’s check, cashier’s check, certified check or money
order. Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable.
Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661

Dated this _ 30th day of _ July , 2007.

David L. Shenkle, J.
jb

NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN
WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.



