Mailing Date: DEC 21 2007

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
FOR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE :
POLICE, BUREAU OF : Citation No. 06-2947
LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT

Incident No. W01-343754

V.
LID - 54202
7517 CHUNG INC
7517 OXFORD AVE
PHILADELPHIA PA 19111-3014
PHILADELPHIA COUNTY :
LICENSE NO. D-SS-3775 : BEFORE: JUDGE SHENKLE

APPEARANCES:
For Bureau of Enforcement: James E. Dailey, Esq.
For Licensee: no appearance

ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this
citation on December 27, 2006. The citation alleges that Licensee violated 8493(1) of the Liquor
Code, 47 P.S. 84-493(1), on November 25, 2006, by selling, furnishing, and/or giving or
permitting such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one male minor, eighteen
years of age.

At the hearing scheduled for October 25, 2007, in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, there
was no appearance for the Licensee; therefore, the matter was heard ex parte.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. The Bureau investigated Licensee on November 25, 2006, and sent written notice of
the results of its investigation to the premises on December 7, 2006 (N.T. 6, Exhibit B-1).

2. A copy of this citation was mailed to the licensed establishment by certified mail on
December 27, 2006 (N.T. 7, Exhibit B-2).
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3. A Notice of Hearing was mailed to Licensee by the Office of Administrative Law
Judge, Harrisburg, PA, by certified and first class mail on September 7, 2007.

4. On November 25, 2006, a man whose birth date was February 2, 1988, purchased a
half keg of beer in the licensed premises. When the sales clerk requested identification, the man
presented a “personal identification card” which stated that his birth date was three years earlier.
The card was not issued by a government. Licensee’s clerk did not photocopy or scan the card,
but accepted it as proof of age and completed the sale (N.T. 8-10, Exhibit B-3).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

Sustained as charged.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since February 17, 2005, and has had no prior violations.

PENALTY:

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-471, prescribes a penalty of license
suspension or revocation or a fine in the $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 range, or both, for violations of
the type found in this case.

ORDER

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, 7517 Chung, Inc., License No. D-
SS-3775, shall pay a fine of one thousand two hundred fifty dollars ($1,250.00) within 20 days
of the mailing date of this order. In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s
license will be suspended or revoked. Jurisdiction is retained.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth
in Liquor Code Section 471.1, pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following
manner. The Licensee is directed to contact the Bureau of Alcohol Education, Pennsylvania
Liquor Control Board (toll free telephone: 1-866-275-8237; web: www.Icb.state.pa.us) within
thirty (30) days of the mailing date of this adjudication in order to receive assistance in the
compliance process. Licensee must receive certification within ninety (90) days of the mailing
date of this adjudication. Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the
date such certification is issued. The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement is further directed
to monitor compliance with this adjudication.
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Failure to comply with this order will be grounds for modification of penalty in this case.
Failure to comply may also constitute grounds for issuance of a new citation as authorized by
Section 471(d) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. Section 4-471(d).

Dated this 11" day of December, 2007.

David L. Shenkle, J.

jb

NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN
WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS
AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment
The fine must be paid by treasurer’s check, cashier’s check, certified check or money
order. Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable.
Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661
Citation No. 06-2947



