Mailing Date: OCT 16 2007

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
FOR
PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE :
POLICE, BUREAU OF : Citation No. 07-0155
LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT
Incident No. W02-339633
V.
LID - 52684
ANNA MARIE DAVIS
338-340 E. NORTHAMPTON ST.
WILKES BARRE, PA 18702-5814

LUZERNE COUNTY
LICENSE NO. R-1345

BEFORE: JUDGE FLAHERTY

APPEARANCES:
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ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on February 9, 2007, by the
Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”)
against ANNA MARIE DAVIS, License Number R-1345 (hereinafter “Licensee”).

The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 5.32(a) of the Liquor Control
Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code 8§5.32(a)] in that on December 3, 2006, Licensee, by her
servants, agents or employes, used, or permitted to be used on the inside of the licensed
premises, a loudspeaker or similar device whereby the sound of music or other entertainment, or
the advertisement thereof, could be heard outside.
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The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on September 6, 2006 and was
completed on December 29, 2006; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified
Mail on January 3, 2007. The notice of violation was received by Licensee.

An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on June 20, 2007 in the Scranton State
Office Building, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania.

Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and
reach the following Conclusions of Law:

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On December 3, 2006 at 12:45 a.m., an officer of the Bureau arrived in the
vicinity of the licensed premises. Upon arrival, he could hear music emanating from the licensed
premises. He conducted a sound check and could hear music emanating from the licensed
premises at distances up to 210 feet (N.T. 9).

2. At 12:50 a.m. the officer entered the licensed premises where he discovered in the
back room a DJ playing songs with patrons who were singing karaoke to the songs that the DJ
was playing. The music was amplified through loudspeakers (N.T. 9-10).

3. The officer left the licensed premises at 1:40 a.m. and was able to hear the music
being played inside at distances which were actually further than he had heard at the time that he
entered (N.T. 10).

CONCLUSION OF LAW:

The charge in the citation is sustained.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since May 20, 2004, and has had two prior violations:

Citation No. 04-1035. Fine $200.00.
1. Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could
be heard outside. October 23, November 5 and 20,
2004.

Citation No. 06-2850. Fine $75.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. August 18 and September 28,
2006.
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PENALTY:

Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 84-471] prescribes a penalty of license
suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for
violations of the type found in this case.

Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be a fine of $250.00.
ORDER

THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee ANNA MARIE DAVIS, pay a fine
of $250.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order. In the event the aforementioned fine
Is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be
suspended or revoked.

The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check or Certified Check.
Personal checks, which includes business-use personal checks, are not acceptable. Make
check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661

Jurisdiction is retained pending final resolution of the penalty in this matter.

Dated this 26™ day of September, 2007.

Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J.
an

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 DAYS OF
THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER IN THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE
LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE. A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR
RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE.



