Mailing Date: AUG 31 2007

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
FOR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE :
POLICE, BUREAU OF : Citation No. 07-0159
LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT
Incident No. W01-341245
V.
LID - 55674
2347 HAVERFORD ROAD INC
2347 HAVERFORD RD
ARDMORE PA 19003-2912

DELAWARE COUNTY :
LICENSE NO. R-SS-14300 : BEFORE: JUDGE SHENKLE

APPEARANCES:
For Bureau of Enforcement: James E. Dailey, Esqg.
For Licensee: John J. McCreesh, Ill, Esq.

ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this
citation on February 13, 2007. There are two counts in the citation.

The first count alleges that Licensee violated §8401(a) and 407(a) of the Liquor Code, 47
P.S. 884-401(a) and 4-407(a), on September 29 and 30, 2006, by selling malt or brewed
beverages in excess of 192 fluid ounces in a single sale to one person for consumption off
premises.

The second count alleges that Licensee violated 8493(1) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-
493(1), on September 29 and 30, 2006, by selling, furnishing, and/or giving or permitting such
sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to three male minors and one female minor,
seventeen years of age.

A hearing was held on July 25, 2007, in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania. The parties
stipulated to the timely service of the notice letter and the citation.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On September 29, 2006, a man whose birth date was September 11, 1989, purchased
in a single transaction two 12-packs and one six-pack of beer in the licensed premises. His age
was not questioned (N.T. 16-18).
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2. On September 30, 2006, a woman whose birth date was October 20, 1988, purchased
in a single transaction two 12-packs of beer in the licensed premises. Her age was not
questioned (N.T. 20-21).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

Licensee violated §8401(a) and 407(a) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 884-401(a) and 4-
407(a), on September 29 and 30, 2006, by selling malt or brewed beverages in excess of 192
fluid ounces in a single sale to one person for consumption off premises.

Licensee violated 8493(1) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-493(1), on September 29 and
30, 2006, by selling alcoholic beverages to one male minor and one female minor, seventeen
years of age.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since January 9, 2006, and has had no prior violations.

PENALTY:

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-471, prescribes a penalty of license
suspension or revocation or a fine, or both, for violations of the type found in this case. For
violations of the type found in Count No. 1, any fine must be in the $50.00 to $1,000.00 range.
For violations of the type found in Count No. 2, any fine must be in the $1,000.00 to $5,000.00
range.

Act 26 of 2006, enacted April 13, 2006, and effective June 12, 2006, amends 47 P.S. 8§4-
471(d) so that it now requires administrative law judges to order compliance with 47 P.S. 84-
471.1 if “a licensee has been cited and found to have violated section 493(1) as a first offense as
it relates to sales to minors or sales to a visibly intoxicated person...”

Since the incident which resulted in this citation occurred after this statute had become
effective, and since this violation involves the sale of alcoholic beverages to a minor and
constitutes Licensee’s first offense, | am required to enter the following order.

Penalties are allocated as follows:

Count 1 — a fine of $250.00.
Count 2 —a fine of $1,250.00 plus mandatory R.A.M.P. compliance.

ORDER

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, 2347 Haverford Road, Inc.,
License No. R-SS-14300, shall pay fines totaling one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00)
within 20 days of the mailing date of this order. In the event the fines are not paid within 20
days, Licensee’s license will be suspended or revoked. Jurisdiction is retained.
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IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth
in Liquor Code Section 471.1, pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management, in the following
manner.  Within thirty (30) days after the mailing date of this adjudication, Licensee shall
contact the Bureau of Alcohol Education, Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (toll free
telephone: 1-866-275-8237; Web Site: www.Icb.state.pa.us) in order to receive assistance in the
compliance process. Licensee must receive certification within ninety (90) days after the mailing
date of this adjudication. Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the
date such certification is issued.

Failure to comply with this order will be grounds for modification of penalty in this case.
Failure to comply may also constitute grounds for issuance of a new citation as authorized by
Section 471(d) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. Section 4-471(d).

The fines must be paid by treasurer’s check, cashier’s check, certified check or money
order. Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable.
Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661

Dated this __22nd  day of __ August , 2007.

David L. Shenkle, J.

jb

NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE
INWRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15
DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.



