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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on April 26, 2007, by the Bureau 

of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) against 

YE OLDE ALE HOUSE, INC., License Number R-AP-SS-19378 (hereinafter “Licensee”). 

 

 The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 5.41 of the Liquor Control Board 

Regulations [40 Pa. Code §5.41] in that from January 1 through March 14, 2007, Licensee, by its 

servants, agents or employes, failed to display on the licensed premises documentary evidence 

that the premises meets all sanitary requirements for a public eating place. 

 

 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on December 19, 2006 and was 

completed on March 20, 2007; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified Mail 

on April 10, 2007.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 



YE OLDE ALE HOUSE, INC. 

CITATION NO.  07-0871  PAGE 2 

 

 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on October 3, 2007 in the Office of 

Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, 

Pennsylvania. 

 

 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

  1. The eating and drinking place license for the licensed premises expired on 

November 30, 2006, and was not renewed until March 15, 2007 (N.T. Exhibit C-3). 

 

 2. On March 14, 2007 an officer of the Bureau entered the licensed premises and 

conducted a routine inspection (N.T. 11-12). 

 

 3. During the inspection the officer discovered that the eating and drinking place 

license displayed on the licensed premises had expired as of December 1, 2006 (N.T. 12-13). 

 

 4. Licensee had been notified by the Department of Agriculture that their license 

would be renewed late because of technical difficulties.  Licensee did not receive an application 

for renewal of its eating and drinking place license until February 28, 2007.  At that time 

Licensee filed its application together with a check.  Licensee did not receive its license from the 

Department of Agriculture until March 15, 2007. 

 

CONCLUSION OF LAW: 

 

  The charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

DISCUSSION: 

 

  The record in this case establishes a technical violation.  It appears that Licensee was a 

victim of circumstances and was technically in violation of the Regulation in question since it 

did not have a valid eating and drinking place license posted on the premises.  However, 

Licensee appeared to have made every effort to comply with the law, and, for that reason, the 

penalty imposed will be the minimum allowed by law. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since June 30, 1970, and has had no prior violation(s) since 

July 1, 1987, the date of establishment of the Office of Administrative Law Judge.  Licensee is, 

therefore, entitled to be treated as a first time offender. 
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PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be a fine of $50.00. 

 

ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee YE OLDE ALE HOUSE, INC., pay a 

fine of $50.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned 

fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be 

suspended or revoked. 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained pending final resolution of the penalty in this matter. 

 

Dated this   10TH  day of June, 2008. 

 

 

 

                                                           

        Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J. 

an 

 

 

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN  15 DAYS OF 

THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER IN THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE 

LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR 

RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE. 

 

 

Detach here and submit stub with payment 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check or Certified Check.  

Personal checks, which includes business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  Make  

check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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