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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on August 14, 2007, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against Sae K. 

Kim & Young O. Kim, t/a West Goshen Delicatessen & Rest. (Licensee), License Number E-SS-

4988. 
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  The citation1 charges Licensee with a violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(1)].  The charge is that on June 21, 2007, Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, 

sold, furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to 

one (1) male minor, eighteen (18) years of age. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on February 25, 2008 at the Philadelphia State 

Office Building, 1400 Spring Garden Street, 13th Floor, Room #2, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 

 

 After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law are entered. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Bureau began and ended its investigation on June 21, 2007.  (Commonwealth 

Exhibit No. B-1, N.T. 6) 

 

 2. The Bureau sent a notice of an alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail-return receipt requested on July 3, 2007.  The notice alleged a 

violation as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. B-1, N.T. 6) 

 

 3. On June 21, 2007, at approximately 9:05 p.m., a Bureau Enforcement Officer 

noticed a youthful appearing patron depart the subject premises with a twelve pack of beer.  

(N.T. 7-8) 

 

 4. The purchaser was born on July 14, 1988 making him eighteen years of age on the 

date in question.  He entered the premises and retrieved a twelve pack of beer from the cooler.  

He displayed identification issued by a nongovernmental authority with false information on it.  

The sales person looked at both sides of the identification card and sold the minor the beer.  

(N.T. 16-18, 25-27) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                              

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. B-2, N.T. 6. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The citation is sustained as charged. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since May 1, 1995, and has had one prior violation: 

 

Adjudication No.  07-0668.  Fine $1,000.00 and R.A.M.P. 

Training mandated. 

   Sales to a minor. 

   February 20, 2007. 

 

  Adjudication No. 07-2057.  Fine $1,500.00. 

   Sales to a minor. 

   July 19, 2007. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Further, Section 471(c) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471(c)] requires that the penalty 

imposed include license revocation or suspension where the violation in question is the third or 

subsequent violation of any of the offenses referred to in subsection 471(b) of the Liquor Code 

[47 P.S. §4-471(b)] and/or the Crimes Code within a four year period.    The following 

Adjudications (07-0474 and 07-2057), in combination with the charge in this citation, requires 

that license revocation or suspension must be included as part of the penalty. 

 

I impose a $1,000.00 fine and a two days suspension.   I also order Licensee to comply 

with the requirements set forth in Liquor Code Section 471.1 [47 P.S. §4-471.1], pertaining to 

Responsible Alcohol Management, for a period of one year from the mailing date of this 

Adjudication. 
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ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Fine 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $1,000.00 within 20 days 

of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days 

from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked. 

 

Imposition of Suspension 

 

 IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Retail Dispenser Eating Place license (including all 

permits) of Sae K. Kim & Young O. Kim, t/a West Goshen Delicatessen & Rest., License No. E-

SS-4988, be suspended for a period of two days, BEGINNING at 7:00 a.m., on Monday, June 2, 

2008, and ENDING at 7:00 a.m., on Wednesday, June 4, 2008. 

 

 Licensee is directed, on Monday, June 2, 2008 at 7:00 a.m., to place a placard of notice of 

suspension (identified as Form No. PLCB-1925 and as printed with red and black ink) in a 

conspicuous place on the outside of the licensed premises or in a window plainly visible from 

outside the licensed premises and to remove said license from the wall and place it in a secure 

location. 

 

 Licensee is advised, if replacement placards are needed for any reason, they are available 

at all Pennsylvania Liquor Stores/Wine & Spirits Shoppes. 

 

 The Bureau is directed to visit and monitor the aforementioned licensed premises for 

compliance with this Order. 

 

 Licensee is authorized, on Wednesday, June 4, 2008, at 7:00 a.m., to remove the placard 

of suspension and return their license to its original wall location. 

 

R.A.M.P. Requirements 

 

 IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth 

in Liquor Code Section 471.1 pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following 

manner.  Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the mailing date of 

this Adjudication. 
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Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this   28th   day of March, 2008. 

 

                                                                                                           

                                                                      Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

pm 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money 

Order.  Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  

Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:  

 

PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110-9661 
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