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ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on October 26, 2007, by the Bureau of
Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter Bureau) against Tom
Peckham, Patricia Peckham, Alison Peckham, License Number H-SS-5973 (hereinafter Licensee).

The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 437 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 84-437]
and Section 5.41 of the Liquor Control Board Regulations, [40 Pa. Code, 85.41], in that on September
12, 2007, Licensee, by its servants, agents, or employees, operated the licensed establishment without a
valid health permit or license, which expired on August 30, 2007.

The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on July 30, 2007 and was completed on
September 12, 2007. The notice of violation letter was mailed to Licensee on September 26, 2007.

An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on April 10, 2008, in Erie, Pennsylvania.
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Upon review of the transcript of the hearing and the Pre-Hearing Memorandum, we make the
following Findings of Fact and reach the following Conclusions of Law:

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. Licensee is located in Erie County, Pennsylvania and holds Hotel Liquor License Number H-
SS-5973. (N.T. 4)

2. On August 30, 2007, Licensee’s health permit expired and was not renewed for non-
compliance issues. (N.T. 13)

3. An enforcement officer was notified by the Department of Environmental Protection that
Licensee’s health license would not be renewed. (N.T. 7)

4. On Wednesday, September 12, 2007, at 12:55 p.m., an enforcement officer entered the
licensed premises and purchased a six pack of Mike’s Hard Lemonade for $9.00. (N.T. 8)

5. The officer conducted a routine inspection and found that the health license posted in the
premises had an expiration date of August 39, 2007, and Licensee was unable to produce a current
health license. (N.T. 9-10)

6. The officer confirmed with the Erie County Health Department that Licensee did not have a
valid health license on Wednesday, September 12, 2007. (N. T. 10)

7. On September 13, 3007, the Erie County Health Department issued Licensee a current health
license. (N. T. 12)

CONCLUSION OF LAW:

Sustained as charged.

DISCUSSION:

At the hearing held on the matter, the enforcement officer and a representative for the Erie
County Department of Health appeared and testified. Licensee did not appear although duly notified of
the time and place.

Title 40, Section 437 of the Liquor Code and Section 5.41 of the Liquor Control Board
Regulations require that a Licensee have a valid health permit in order to sell or furnish alcoholic
beverages.

| find the testimony of the Bureau’s witnesses to be credible. As such, the citation is sustained as
changed.
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PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since October 6, 2004, and has no prior violations.

PENALTY:

Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 84-471] prescribes a penalty of license suspension or
revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for violations of the type
found in this case.

After due consideration of the circumstances giving rise to the citation and Licensee’s status as a
first time offender, a fine of $150.00 will be imposed as the penalty in this case.

ORDER:

THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee, Tom Peckham, Patricia Peckham, Alison
Peckham, License Number H-SS-5973 (hereinafter Licensee), pay a fine of $150.00 within 20 days of
the mailing date of this Order. In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days from the
mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked.

JURISDICTION IS RETAINED UNTIL CASE IS CLOSED.

Dated this _15th dayof _ May , 2008.

Robert F. Skwaryk, J.
ab

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 DAYS OF
THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE. A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR
RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE.
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Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment
The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order.
Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable. Please make your
guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661
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