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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on February 19, 2008, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) 

against JERPDO, Inc., t/a Dutch’s Market (Licensee), License Number R-SS-19891. 
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  The citation1 charges Licensee with a violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(1)].  The charge is that on January 20, 2008, Licensee, by servants, agents or 

employes, sold, furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic 

beverages to one (1) male minor, twenty (20) years of age. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on August 13, 2008 at the Scranton State Office 

Building, PUC Hearing Room 318, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania.  Licensee 

was represented by its President/Stockholder/Director, Mr. John Otway. 

 

 After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law are entered. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Bureau began its investigation on January 20, 2008 and completed it 

on January 23, 2008.  (N.T. 20) 

 

 2. The Bureau sent a notice of an alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail-return receipt requested on January 23, 2008.  The notice alleged a 

violation as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 15) 

 

 3. The Bureau conducted an Age Compliance visit to the subject premises on 

January 20, 2008.  Pursuant to that Program, one Bureau Enforcement Officer was inside the 

subject premises in an undercover capacity.  A short time later, a minor entered the premises , a 

grocery store that sells beer.  (N.T. 16-24) 

 

 4. The minor retrieved a forty ounce bottle of beer from a cooler.  The cashier 

required the minor to show identification.  The minor presented his legitimate and valid 

Pennsylvania Photo Driver’s license.  The cashier looked at the driver’s license, returned it to the 

minor and rang up the beer sale.  (N.T. 28-30) 

 

 5. After the sale, a Bureau Enforcement Officer entered the premises and advised the 

employe of the unlawful sale.  (N.T. 31-32) 

 

 

 

 

 

                           

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2, N.T. 15. 
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 6. The minor was twenty years old on the date in question, having been born 

November 6, 1987.  The twenty year old was trained by the Bureau regarding the requirements 

of the Age Compliance Check program.  (N.T. 37-42) 

  

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The Bureau complied with the applicable notice requirements of Liquor Code 

Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471]. 

 

 2. The Bureau complied with all statutory and regulatory requirements related to the 

Age Compliance Check Program.   

 

 3. On January 20, 2008, Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, sold, furnished 

and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one (1) male 

minor, twenty (20) years of age. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since August 22, 2001, and has had no prior violations. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 That Section further provides for mandatory compliance with Liquor Code Section 471.1 

[47 P.S. §4-471.1], pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management when, as in this matter, 

Licensee has been found to have to have violated Section 493(1) as a first offense as it relates to 

sales to minors or sales to a visibly intoxicated patron. 

 

 As Licensee has taken steps to assure there will be no repeated violation, I will impose 

the minimum allowable fine of $1,000.00. 

 

ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Fine 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $1,000.00 within 20 days 

of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days 

from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked. 
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R.A.M.P. Requirements 

 

 IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth 

in Liquor Code Section 471.1 pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following 

manner.  Licensee is directed to initiate contact with The Bureau of Alcohol Education, 

Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (Toll Free Telephone No.: 1-866-275-8237; Web Site: 

www.lcb.state.pa.us; Email Address: LBEducation@state.pa.us), within 30 days of the mailing 

date of this Adjudication for assistance in the compliance process.  Licensee must receive 

Certification within 90 days of the mailing date of this Adjudication.  Licensee must remain in 

compliance for a period of one year from the date such Certification is issued. 

 

Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this    11th     day of September, 2008. 

 

 

                                                                                                                  

                                                                              Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

pm 

 

 MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 

DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A 

WRITTEN REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE 

FILING FEE. 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

 The fine must be paid by treasurer’s check, cashier’s check, certified check or money 

order.  Personal Checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable.  Please 

make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:  

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661 
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