Mailing Date: DEC 16 2008

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE

FOR

PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE
POLICE, BUREAU OF

LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT

V.

ARM BAR, INC.
300 CAMERON AVENUE
MILTON, PA 17847-2002

NORTHUMBERLAND COUNTY
LICENSE NO. R-AP-SS-10769

BEFORE: JUDGE FLAHERTY

APPEARANCES:

For Bureau of Enforcement
Andrew J. Lovette, Esquire

BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on April 24, 2008, by the Bureau
of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) against

ADJUDICATION

Citation No. 08-0677C

Incident No. W06-370660

LID - 14558

For Licensee
NO APPEARANCE

ARM BAR, INC., License Number R-AP-SS-10769 (hereinafter “Licensee”).

The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47
P.S. 84-493(1)] in that on March 4, 2008, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, sold,
furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one

male minor, nineteen years of age.

The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on March 4, 2008 and was
completed on March 6, 2008; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified Mail

on March 13, 2008. The notice of violation was received by Licensee.
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An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on November 5, 2008 in the PA
Department of Agriculture, 2130 County Farms Road, Montoursville, Pennsylvania. No one
appeared at the hearing on behalf of Licensee. A citation hearing notice was sent to Licensee(s)
at its address of record, 300 Cameron Avenue, Milton, PA 17847-2002 by certified mail, return
receipt requested and by first class mail on September 18, 2008. The notice set forth the date and
time of the hearing as November 5, 2008 at 9:30 a.m., and the place of hearing as PA Dept. of
Agriculture, 2130 County Farms Road, Montoursville, PA 17754-9685.

Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and
reach the following Conclusions of Law:

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On March 4, 2008, a male patron whose date of birth was January 30, 1989
entered the licensed premises at 7:55 p.m. (N.T. 11-12).

2. The aforementioned minor walked up to the bar where the female bartender asked
him what he would like (N.T. 12).

3. The aforementioned minor told the bartender that he wanted a bottle of Bud Light
beer. The bartender asked for identification and the minor gave the bartender his Pennsylvania
Driver’s license showing his correct date of birth. The driver’s license also indicated that
Licensee was under 21 years of age until January 30, 2010 (N.T. 12 and 14).

4. The bartender retrieved a bottle of Budweiser beer and sat it on the bar. The
aforementioned gave the bartender money and she gave him change (N.T. 12).

5. The aforementioned minor pulled the bottle of beer towards him and then walked
out of the licensed premises (N.T. 12).

CONCLUSION OF LAW:

The charge in the citation is sustained.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since November 2, 1978, and has had seven prior violation(s)
since July 1, 1987, the date of establishment of the Office of Administrative Law Judge:

Citation No. 87-3337. Fine $150.00.
1. Held or permitted a contest on the licensed premises
without Board approval.
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Citation No. 91-0549. Fine $1,000.00.
1. Sunday sales after 2:00 a.m.

Citation No. 91-1417. Fine $450.00.
1. Possessed or operated gambling devices or
paraphernalia or permitted gambling or lotteries on
the licensed premises (poker machine).

Citation No. 95-0385. Fine $1,000.00.
1. Sales to a minor.

Citation No. 98-0603. Fine $450.00.

1. Possessed or operated gambling devices or
paraphernalia or permitted gambling or lotteries,
poolselling and/or bookmaking on the licensed
premises (machine).

Citation No. 00-2106. Fine $750.00.

1. Possessed or operated gambling devices or
paraphernalia or permitted gambling or lotteries,
poolselling and/or bookmaking on the licensed
premises (machine).

Citation No. 01-0752. 3 days suspension.
1. Sales to a minor.

PENALTY:
Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 84-471] prescribes a penalty of license
suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for

violations of the type found in this case.

Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be a fine of $1,250.00
and RAMP training.

ORDER

THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee ARM BAR, INC., pay a fine
of $1,250.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order. In the event the aforementioned
fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be
suspended or revoked.
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IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth
in Liquor Code Section 471.1, pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following
manner. Licensee is directed to initiate contact with The Bureau of Alcohol Education,
Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (Toll Free Telephone No.: 1-866-275-8237; Web Site:
www.Icb.state.pa.us; Email Address: LBEducation@state.pa.us) within 30 days of the mailing
date of this Adjudication. Licensee must receive Certification within 90 days of the mailing date
of this Adjudication. Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the date
such Certification is issued.

Failure to comply with this Order will be grounds for modification of penalty in this case.
Failure to comply may also constitute grounds for issuance of a new citation as authorized by
Section 471(d) of the liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471(d)].

Jurisdiction is retained pending final resolution of the penalty in this matter.

Dated this 1ST  day of December, 2008.

e 7T

Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J.
an

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 DAYS OF
THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER IN THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE
LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE. A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR
RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE.

Detach here and submit stub with payment
The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check or Certified Check.
Personal checks, which includes business-use personal checks, are not acceptable. Make
check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661

Citation No. 08-0677C
Arm Bar, Inc.
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