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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on April 30, 2008, by the Bureau 

of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against Sharon M. 

Roberts, t/a Sharon’s Subs (Licensee), License Number R-SS-15088. 
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  The citation1 charges Licensee with a violation of Section 15.62(a) of the Pennsylvania 

Liquor Control Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code §15.62(a)].  The charge is that on March 10, 11, 

17, 18, 19, 20 and 21, 2008, Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, failed to post in a 

conspicuous place on the outside of the licensed premises, or in a window plainly visible from 

the outside of the premises, a Notice of Suspension. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on September 5, 2008 at the Scranton State Office 

Building, PUC Hearing Room 318, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania.  Licensee 

did not appear personally or have any representation. 

 

 After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law are entered. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. A citation hearing notice was mailed by the Office of Administrative Law Judge 

on July 22, 2008 to Licensee by both certified receipt-return mail and first-class mail to the 

licensed premises.  The notice notified Licensee of the date, time and place of the hearing.  The 

Notice, sent by certified mail, was signed for by Licensee. (N.T. 4) 

 

 2. On July 23, 2008, I issued a Pre-Hearing Order directing Licensee to submit her 

pre-hearing memorandum to this Office and to Bureau Counsel.  The Order reiterated the date, 

time and place of hearing. (N.T. 4) 

 

3. The Bureau began its investigation on February 14, 2008 and completed it 

on March 21, 2008.  (N.T. 11) 

 

 4. The Bureau sent a notice of an alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail-return receipt requested on March 26, 2008.  The notice alleged a 

violation as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 11) 

 

 5. On the dates charged, a Bureau Enforcement Officer arrived at the licensed 

premises to conduct a suspension check pursuant to Adjudication No. 07-2338, suspending the 

license for a period of three days, beginning at 7:00 a.m., Monday, March 10, 2008.  The Officer 

found the licensed premises to be open and observed that a Notice of Suspension placard was not 

posted in anywhere. 

 

 

 

 

                           

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2, N.T. 11. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The citation is sustained as charged. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since August 31, 2004, and has had five prior violations: 

 

  Adjudication No. 06-1643X.  Fine $150.00. 

   Issued worthless checks in payment for purchases of 

   malt or brewed beverages. 

   March 24, April 20 and 21, 2006. 

 

  Adjudication No. 07-2120X.  Fine $200.00. 

   Issued worthless checks in payment for purchases of 

   malt or brewed beverages. 

   July 19, 2007. 

 

  Adjudication No. 07-2338.  Fine $1,250.00 and 3 days suspension 

  and continuing thereafter. 

   Sales after your license expired and had not been 

   renewed and/or validated. 

   September 1, 2007. 

 

Adjudication No.  07-2901X.  Fine $350.00.  Fine not paid and 

license revoked. 

   Issued worthless checks in payment for purchases of 

   malt or brewed beverages. 

   August 23, 2007. 

 

  Adjudication No. 08-0052X.  Revocation of license. 

   Issued worthless checks in payment for purchases 

   of malt or brewed beverages. 

   October 25, 26 and November 28, 2007. 
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PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 I impose revocation of the license. 

 

ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Revocation 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that the Restaurant liquor license (including all 

permits) No. R-SS-15088, issued to Sharon M. Roberts, t/a Sharon’s Subs, be REVOKED, 

effective at 7:00 a.m., on Monday, November 10, 2008.  Any Wholesale Liquor Purchase Permit 

Card or discount card issued in connection with the aforementioned license is hereby 

CANCELLED. 

 

 As this license has already been revoked, there is no license to be returned.  Accordingly, 

the Bureau of Licensing of the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board is hereby directed to mark 

their records accordingly, that this license is revoked, effective at 7:00 a.m., Monday, 

November 10, 2008. 

 

Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this 30th day of September, 2008. 

 

 

 

                                                                                                        

                                                                  Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

pm 

 

 MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 

DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A 

WRITTEN REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE 

FILING FEE. 


