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O P I N I O N 

 Coal Cracker Tavern, Inc. t/a Coal Cracker Tavern (“Licensee”) appealed 

from the Adjudication and Order of Administrative Law Judge Felix Thau 

(“ALJ”), wherein the ALJ sustained the citation and imposed a one thousand 

dollar ($1,000.00) fine. 

 The citation charged that, on June 19, 2008, Licensee, by its servants, 

agents or employees violated section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-
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493(1)] by selling, furnishing and/or giving or permitting such sale, furnishing or 

giving of alcoholic beverages to one (1) male minor, eighteen (18) years of age. 

Pursuant to section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471], the appeal in 

this case must be based solely on the record before the ALJ.  The Board shall 

only reverse the decision of the ALJ if the ALJ committed an error of law or 

abused his discretion, or if his decision was not based upon substantial 

evidence. The Commonwealth Court defined "substantial evidence" to be such 

relevant evidence as a reasonable person might accept as adequate to support 

a conclusion.  Joy Global, Inc. v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Bd. (Hogue), 

876 A.2d 1098 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2005); Chapman v. Pennsylvania Bd. of Probation 

and Parole, 86 Pa. Cmwlth. 49, 484 A.2d   413 (1984). 

 On appeal, Licensee generally contends that the ALJ abused his 

discretion.  To that end, Licensee raises a series of objections regarding the 

ALJ’s demeanor.  First, Licensee contends that the ALJ treated her unfairly and 

generally failed to take her explanations into account.  Second, Licensee offers 

a series of mitigating circumstances for consideration. 

 The record reveals that on June 19, 2008, at approximately 8:30 p.m., 

Thomas Hess, an officer with the Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor 

Control Enforcement (“Bureau”), entered Licensee’s premises in an 



3 

undercover capacity and observed Licensee’s sole corporate officer, Carol 

Sheman, on duty.  (N.T. 24-25).   Officer Hess observed the designated 

underage purchaser enter the premises shortly afterward.  (N.T. 25). 

 As part of the Age Compliance Check Program, at approximately 8:32 

p.m., an eighteen (18) year old male minor identified as U.B. entered Licensee’s 

premises and removed a forty (40) ounce Coor’s Light bottle of beer from the 

cooler and placed it on the register.  (N.T. 31-32).  The male minor paid Mrs. 

Sheman two dollars and seventy-five cents ($2.75) without being asked for any 

identification (N.T. 32). 

 The sole corporate officer represented the Licensee without assistance 

of counsel.   

 During Mrs. Sheman’s cross examination of the male minor, Mrs. Sheman 

admitted to the ALJ that she does not deny making the sale, but that she was 

distracted because of the “unnatural” behavior of the Bureau agent and the 

minor while they were inside the licensed premises.  (N.T. 39-40). 

 In response to the first allegation raised by the Licensee, the Board has 

reviewed the record with the Licensee’s objections in mind and although the 

ALJ’s tone and commentary may appear a bit harsh, a review of the record 

reveals that the ALJ did not commit an error of law or an abuse of discretion. 
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 In response to the second allegation raised by Licensee, Section 493(1) of 

the Liquor Code provides that it shall be unlawful “[f]or any license . . ., or any 

employee, servant or agent of such licensee. . ., to sell, furnish or give any 

liquor or malt or brewed beverages, or to permit any liquor or malt or brewed 

beverages to be sold, furnished or given . . . to any minor . . . .”  [47 P.S. § 4-

493(1)].  Section 495(f) of the Liquor Code provides that a licensee who has 

provided alcohol to a minor may, nonetheless, escape liability if the licensee 

required the minor to provide proper identification and if the licensee acted in 

good faith.  [47 P.S. § 4-495(f)]. 

 To escape liability for the violation of selling and furnishing alcohol to 

minors, Licensee must establish an affirmative defense by proving that it 

complied with all of the requirements set forth in section 495 of the Liquor 

Code.  In the present matter Licensee has failed to meet its burden. 

 In order to assert an affirmative defense for sales of alcohol to minors 

the Licensee must show that the minor in question provided a valid photo 

driver’s license or identification card issued by the Department of 

Transportation or by any other state.  [47 P.S. § 495(a)].  Once Licensee has 

established that a valid form of identification was presented, Licensee must 

utilize one (1) of three (3)  processes to escape liability.  After establishing that 
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a valid form of identification was requested Licensee must require that the 

minor complete and sign a Declaration of Age Card pursuant to section 

495(c)(e); or Licensee can make a photograph, photocopy or other visual or 

video presentation of the valid identification card presented pursuant to 

section 495(f); or the Licensee can use a transaction scan device (Licensee can 

swipe the valid identification card) pursuant to section 495(g).  Further, all of 

these three (3) methods, and their results, must be relied upon in good faith by 

the Licensee to then allow the person to purchase alcohol.   [47 P.S. § 

495(c)(e)(f)(g)]. 

 In the present matter, the minor in question was never asked to present 

any form of identification, nor was he asked to sign a declaration of age card.  

None of the circumstances set forth in mitigation by the Licensee can be 

accepted as a valid defense to the charge in question. 

 Accordingly, the Board finds that the ALJ’s decision is supported by 

substantial evidence and shall not be disturbed. 

 The decision of the ALJ is, therefore, affirmed. 
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ORDER 

 The decision of the ALJ is affirmed. 

 The appeal of Licensee is dismissed. 

 Licensee has paid the fine in the amount of one thousand dollars 

($1,000.00).   

It is further ordered that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set 

forth in Liquor Code section 471.1 [47 P.S. § 4-471.1] pertaining to Responsible 

Alcohol Management in the following manner.  Licensee must receive 

Responsible Alcohol Management certification from the Board’s Bureau of 

Alcohol Education within ninety (90) days after the mailing date of this Opinion 

and Order.  Licensee must remain in compliance with the Responsible Alcohol 

Management certification requirements for a period of one (1) year from the 

date such certification is issued. 

 Licensee must adhere to all conditions set forth in the ALJ’s Orders in this 

matter. 

 This case is remanded to the ALJ to ensure compliance with this order. 

 

         
 ___________________________________ 
   Board Secretary    


