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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on September 5, 2008, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against Anna 

Marie Davis (Licensee), License Number R-AP-1345. 
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  The citation1 charges Licensee with a violation of Section 493(26) of the Liquor Code 

[47 P.S. §4-493(26)].  The charge is that Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, issued 

checks or drafts dated June 25, 2008, in payment for purchases of malt or brewed beverages, 

when Licensee had insufficient funds in, or credit with, the institution upon which drawn for the 

payment of such checks. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on December 17, 2008 at the Scranton State 

Office Building, PUC Hearing Room 318, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania.  

Licensee appeared personally at the hearing. 

 

 After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law are entered. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Bureau began its investigation on July 14, 2008 and completed it on 

August 4, 2008.  (N.T. 6) 

 

 2. The Bureau sent a notice of an alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail-return receipt requested on August 5, 2008.  The notice alleged a 

violation as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 7) 

 

 3. On June 25, 2008, Licensee issued a check to an Importing Distributor/Distributor 

in the amount of $186.03 for the purchase of beer.  The check was dishonored due to insufficient 

funds.  (N.T. 17) 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The citation is sustained as charged. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                             

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2, N.T. 8. 
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PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since May 20, 2004, and has had eight prior violations: 

 

 Adjudication No.  04-1035.  Fine $200.00. 

 Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could   

 be heard outside.   

October 23, November 5 and 10, 2004. 

 

Adjudication No. 06-2850.  Fine $75.00. 

 Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or   

 brewed beverages.   

August 18 and September 28, 2006. 

 

Adjudication No. 07-0155.  Fine $250.00.  Fine not paid and 

license suspended for 1 day and thereafter until fine paid. 

 Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could   

 be heard outside.   

December 3, 2006. 

 

Adjudication No. 07-0734.  Fine $150.00.  Fine not paid and 

license suspended for 1 day and thereafter until fine paid. 

 Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or   

 brewed beverages.   

February 2, 2007. 

 

 Adjudication No.  07-1354C.  Fine $1,250.00. 

 Sales to a minor. 

   May 10, 2007. 

 

  Adjudication No. 07-2519.  Fine $500.00.  Fine not paid and 

license suspended for one day and thereafter until fine paid. 

   1. Sales after your license expired and 

    had not been renewed and/or validated. 

    September 1, 2007. 

   2. Failed to post in a conspicuous place on the 

    outside of the licensed premises a notice of 

    suspension. 

    August 27, 28, 29, 30 and 31, 2007. 

   3. Sales during a time when your license was 

    suspended. 

    August 28, 2007. 
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  Adjudication No. 08-0545.  Fine $300.00.  Fine not paid and 

  license suspended for one day and thereafter until fine paid. 

   1. Failed to post in a conspicuous place on the 

    outside of the licensed premises a notice of 

    suspension. 

    February 4, 5 and 6, 2008. 

   2. Sales during a time when your license was suspended. 

    February 4 and 6, 2008. 

 

  Adjudication No. 08-1369.  Fine $250.00.  Fine not paid and license 

  suspended for one day and thereafter until fine paid. 

   Operated the licensed establishment without a valid 

   health permit or license. 

   May 5, 2008. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Licensee explains there were certain automatic withdrawals from her bank account which 

altered her ability to maintain sufficient funds in the account to cover checks that were used for 

purchasing beer.  Licensee has since separated certain accounts so that this problem will not 

reoccur.  Accordingly, impose a $225.00 fine. 

 

ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Fine 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $225.00 within 20 days of 

the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days 

from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked. 
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Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this   15th     day of January, 2009. 

 

  

 
Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

pm 

 

 MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 

DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A 

WRITTEN REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE 

FILING FEE. 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

 The fine must be paid by treasurer’s check, cashier’s check, certified check or money 

order.  Personal Checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable.  Please 

make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:  

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661 

 

Citation No. 08-1989X 

ANNA MARIE DAVIS 


