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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on September 25, 2008, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) 

against ESCOFFIER, INC., License Number  R-AP-SS-EHF-5353 (hereinafter “Licensee”). 

 

 The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 493(26) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(26)] in that Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, issued checks or drafts 

dated June 21 and 24, 2008, in payment for purchases of malt or brewed beverages, when it had 

insufficient funds in, or credit with, the institution upon which drawn for the payment of such 

checks. 

 

 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on July 15, 2008 and was 

completed on August 5, 2008; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified Mail 

on August 14, 2008.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 
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 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on April 28, 2008 in the PA Dept. of 

Agriculture, 2130 County Farms Road, Montoursville, Pennsylvania.   

 

 At the hearing in this matter, counsel for the Bureau of Enforcement moved to withdraw 

the charge in this matter as it relates to the date of June 21, 2008.  The Motion was granted (See 

N.T. 7). 

 

 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

  1. On June 24, 2008 Licensee purchased malt or brewed beverages from Durdach 

Brothers, Inc.  In payment therefore, Licensee issued its check in the amount of $336.72.  The 

check was returned by Licensee’s bank for insufficient funds (N.T. 11 and Exhibit C-3). 

 

 2. A warning letter was sent to the Licensee on March 21, 2008 with respect to an 

insufficient fund check issued by Licensee to Durdach Brothers, Inc. in the amount of $259.81.  

The check was issued in payment for the purchase of malt or brewed beverages and was returned 

for insufficient funds.  The check was made good in a timely fashion (N.T. 13 and Exhibit C-4). 

 

CONCLUSION OF LAW: 

 

  The charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since February 18, 2005, and has had no prior violations.  

Licensee is, therefore, entitled to be treated as a first time offender. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be a fine of $150.00. 

 

ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee ESCOFFIER, INC., pay a fine 

of $150.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine 

is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be 

suspended or revoked. 
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 Jurisdiction is retained pending final resolution of the penalty in this matter. 

 

Dated this   10TH       day of November, 2009 

 

 

 

        
        Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J. 

an 

 

 

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN  15 DAYS OF 

THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER IN THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE 

LAW JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR 

RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE. 

 

Detach here and submit stub with payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check or Certified Check.  

Personal checks, which includes business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  Make  

check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 

 

Citation No. 08-2034X 

Escoffier, Inc. 

 


