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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on October 3, 2008, by the Bureau 

of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) against 

DARIUS D. KAYE, License Number E-SS-1259 (hereinafter “Licensee”). 

 

 The citation charges Licensee with violation of Sections 492(2), 492(3) and 493(16) of 

the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §§4-492(2), 4-492(3) and 4-493(16)] in that on September 2, 2008, 

Licensee, by his servants, agents or employes, sold alcoholic beverages after his Eating Place 

Retail Dispenser license expired on August 31, 2008, and had not been renewed and/or validated. 

 

 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on September 2, 2008 and was 

completed on September 2, 2008; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified 

Mail on September 9, 2008.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on July 23, 2009 in the Scranton State 

Office Building, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania.  Another hearing was held 

on October 21, 2009. 
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 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

  1. Administrative notice is hereby taken that the eating place license of Licensee 

expired on August 31, 2008, and, as of September 2, 2008, Licensee did not have authority to 

dispense alcoholic beverages. 

 

 2. On September 2, 2008 an officer of the Bureau went to the licensed premises.  He 

found the premises to be open, and he entered (N.T. 6-7). 

 

 3. Upon entry the officer observed a female employe behind the counter.  He 

ordered, paid for and was served a 6-pack of Keystone Light beer (N.T. 7). 

 

 4. After the purchase, the officer identified himself to the Licensee, Darius D. Kaye.  

The officer asked Mr. Kaye if he had any temporary authority or a new liquor license as of that 

date.  Mr. Kaye could provide no such documentation (N.T. 7). 

 

CONCLUSION OF LAW: 

 

  The charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since August 8, 2007, and has had one prior violation: 

 

 Citation No.  08-0665.  1 day suspension deferred. 

 1. Sales without a license after the temporary authority 

  granted to you by the Board had expired.  February  

  25, 2008. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be a fine of $1,250.00. 
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ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee DARIUS D. KAYE, pay a fine 

of $1,250.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned 

fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be 

suspended or revoked. 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained pending final resolution of the penalty in this matter. 

 

Dated this    8TH      day of February, 2010. 

 

 

 

        
        Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J. 

an 

 

 

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY 

ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, 

ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.   

 

Detach here and submit stub with payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 The fine must be paid by Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order.  Personal 

and business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Make guaranteed check 

payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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Darius D. Kaye 

 


