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7681 FRANKFORD AVE 
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BEFORE:  JUDGE  SHENKLE 

 

 

APPEARANCES: 

For Bureau of Enforcement:  Erik S. Shmukler, Esq. 

For Licensee:  no appearance. 

 

 

ADJUDICATION 

 

 

BACKGROUND: 

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this 

citation on October 7, 2008.  The citation alleges that Licensee violated §§401(a) and 406(a)(1) 

of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §§4-401(a) and 4-406(a)(1), on July 17, 2008, by selling, furnishing 

or giving liquor for consumption off premises. 

At the hearing scheduled for January 28, 2009, in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, there 

was no appearance for the Licensee; therefore, the matter was heard ex parte. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT:      

1.  The Bureau investigated Licensee during the period July 3 through September 23, 

2008, and sent written notice of the results of its investigation to the licensed premises by 

certified mail on September 23, 2008 (N.T. 8-9, Exhibit B-1). 

2.  A copy of this citation was mailed to the licensed establishment by certified mail on 

October 7, 2008 (N.T. 10, Exhibit B-2). 

3.  A Notice of Hearing was mailed to Licensee by the Office of Administrative Law 

Judge, Harrisburg, PA, by certified and first class mail on December 12, 2008. 
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4.  Liquor Enforcement Officer Julie Kohler visited the licensed premises at about 9:55 

p.m. on Thursday, July 17, 2008.  She spoke to a bartender, and asked if she could order a bottle 

of Miller Lite beer and then take it outside to a seating area on the sidewalk and drink it.  The 

bartender said she could, as long as the purchase took place inside.  The officer purchased the 

beer and took it outside (N.T. 4-6). 

5.  Officer Kohler shortly realized that it is not illegal to purchase beer “to go.”  She 

finished the beer and went back inside.  She asked the same bartender if it would be all right to 

purchase a vodka and tonic mixed drink and take it outside.  The bartender said “absolutely” and 

prepared the drink in a glass.  The officer asked if it was okay to take the glass outside, and the 

bartender assured her it was.  Officer Kohler took the mixed drink she had purchased outside and 

drank it (N.T. 6-7). 

6.  Officer Kohler had reviewed the file in the Bureau’s District Office and had seen that 

there was no record of a licensed outside seating area at this premises.  She also called the PLCB 

and confirmed the same.  An attestation by a custodian of official records for the Board states 

that this Licensee “did not possess a valid license to operate outside of business on July 17, 

2008.”  (N.T. 7, Exhibit B-3). 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Sustained as charged. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

Licensee has been licensed since September 29, 2006, and has had two prior violations: 

Citation No. 07-1696X.  $500.00 fine.  Licensee suspended 1 day for late payment. 

1. Bad checks for malt or brewed beverages.  April 13 and 26, 2007. 

 

Citation No. 07-2071.  $150.00 fine.    Licensee suspended 1 day for late payment.            

1. Loudspeakers could be heard outside.  July 28, 2007. 

 

PENALTY: 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine in the $50.00 to $1,000.00 range, or both, for violations of the 

type found in this case. 

 

 

 



7681 Smokeeaters, Inc. Page 3 

Citation No. 08-2382 

 

 

 

ORDER 

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, 7681 Smokeeaters, Inc., License 

No. R-AP-SS-9122, shall pay a fine of three hundred dollars ($300.00) within 20 days of the 

mailing date of this order.  In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s  license 

will be suspended or revoked.  Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

 

 

Dated this   2ND   day of___MARCH_____, 2009. 

 

  

 

 
 David L. Shenkle, J. 

 

jb 

 

 

NOTICE:  MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN 

WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.  

 

 

 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

The fine must be paid by treasurer’s check, cashier’s check, certified check or money 

order. Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  

Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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7681 Smokeeaters, Inc. 


