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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on November 5, 2008, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against Farjay 

Corporation, t/a The Blue Pelican (Licensee), License Number R-AP-SS-18892. 

 

  The citation1 charges Licensee with a violation of Section 5.32(a) of the Pennsylvania 

Liquor Control Board Regulation [40 Pa. Code §5.32(a)].  The charge is that on October 18, 

2008, Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, used, or permitted to be used on the inside of its 

licensed premises, a loudspeaker or similar device whereby the sound of music or other 

entertainment, or the advertisement thereof, could be heard outside. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on July 2, 2009 at the Scranton State Office 

Building, PUC Hearing Room 318, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania. 

 

 

 

                        

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2, N.T. 9. 
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 After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law are entered. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Bureau began its investigation on September 8, 2008 and completed it 

on October 19, 2008.  (N.T. 7) 

 

 2. The Bureau sent a notice of an alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail-return receipt requested on October 22, 2008.  The notice alleged a 

violation as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 8) 

 

 3. On Saturday, October 18, 2008, a Bureau Enforcement Officer arrived in the area 

of the premises at approximately 10:00 p.m.  The Officer sat in a State vehicle for approximately 

ten minutes.  The Officer heard loud music coming from inside the premises.  The Officer heard 

the music as far away as 200 feet.  The Officer entered the premises and noticed the music the 

Officer heard outside was being provided by two entertainers.  The music was electronically 

amplified.  (N.T. 11-13) 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The citation is sustained as charged. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since November 2, 2006, and has had four prior violations, 

(Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-3): 

 

Adjudication No. 07-2715.  Fine $250.00. 

 Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could   

 be heard outside.   

October 13, 2007. 

 

Adjudication No. 08-1127.  Fine $350.00. 

 Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could   

 be heard outside.   

April 26, 2008. 
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Adjudication No. 08-1434.  Fine $450.00. 

 Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could   

 be heard outside.   

May 30, 2008. 

 

Adjudication No.  08-2283.  2 days suspension. 

   Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music 

   could be heard outside. 

   August 29 and 30, 2008. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Licensee has engaged in extensive remodeling and has placed the premises on the market 

for sale.  Accordingly, I impose a $650.00 fine. 

 

ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Fine 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $650.00 within 20 days of 

the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days 

from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked. 

 

Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this    23RD        day of July, 2009. 

 

 
Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

pm 

 

NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON 

UNLESS THEY ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING 

DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE. 
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Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

 The fine must be paid by treasurer’s check, cashier’s check, certified check or money 

order.  Personal Checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable.  Please 

make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:  

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661 
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