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ADJUDICATION 

BACKGROUND: 

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this 

citation on February 3, 2009.  The citation alleges that Licensee violated §493(1) of the Liquor 

Code, 47 P.S. §4-493(1), on January 7, 2009, by selling, furnishing and/or giving or permitting 

such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one visibly intoxicated male patron. 

A hearing was held on June 4, 2009, in Plymouth Meeting , Pennsylvania.  The parties 

stipulated to the timely service of the notice letter and citation. 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

1. On January 7, 2009, two liquor enforcement officers entered the licensed premises at 

8:15 p.m.  There were three other patrons and one bartender.  At 8:40 p.m. a man came into the 

premises whose wife had died suddenly about two weeks earlier.  The man sat next to one of the 

officers, about two feet from him, and began to talk.  He introduced himself.  He ordered a bottle 

of beer.  He asked the officer’s name.  His eyes were bloodshot.  The officer had difficulty 

understanding him.  He smelled of alcohol (N.T. 7-8, 19, 24). 

2. The man went to a jukebox and tried to deposit dollar bills into it, but was not able to 

get the money in the proper position for the dollar bill acceptor to take it.  The man said he 

wanted to hear some rock and roll.  He asked one of the officers to help him put the money in the 

jukebox, handing the bills to her.  The officer deposited the money and asked what the man 

wanted to hear.  The man told her to pick whatever she likes (N.T. 8-9). 
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3. The man sat back down and resumed talking.  At about 8:55 p.m. he ordered a shot 

and a beer.  The bartender served these drinks.  The man played “air guitar.”  He bought a round 

of drinks for the bar.  He introduced himself to the officer a second time (N.T. 9-10).  

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Licensee violated §493(1) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-493(1), on January 7, 2009, by 

selling alcoholic beverages to one visibly intoxicated male patron. 

DISCUSSION: 

The man described in the testimony was known to the bartender and the other patrons, 

although he was not a frequent patron at the premises.  The bartender attributed the man’s red 

eyes to his grief at the loss of his wife. 

This may have been a correct explanation, but there were too many other indications that 

the man was also intoxicated.  A licensed restaurant is no place for friends to allow a bereaved 

friend to tie one on. 

The bereaved man exhibited other odd behavior, but after it occurred the bartender cut 

him off.  One of the patrons drove him home. 

PRIOR RECORD: 

Licensee has been licensed since June 26, 2002, and has had prior violations as follows: 

 

Citation No. 03-1457.  $1,250.00 fine. 

1. Sales to a minor.  June 19, 2003. 

2. Operated without a valid health permit or license.  July 2, 19 and  29, 2003. 

 

Citation No. 04-0944.  $500.00 fine. 

1. Not a bona fide restaurant (insufficient food).  November 7, 2003. 

2. Operated without a valid health permit or license. 

November 7, 2003, and January 23, 2004. 

Citation No. 05-1348.  $200.00 fine. 

1. Sold malt or brewed beverages in excess of 192 fluid ounces for consumption off 

premises.  June 3, 2005. 

Citation No. 07-1727.  $150.00 fine. 

1. Failed to keep records on the licensed premises.  June 16, 2007. 

PENALTY: 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine in the $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 range, or both, for violations of 

the type found in this case.  Mandatory R.A.M.P. – certification is required by 47 P.S. §4-471(d) 

in these circumstances. 
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ORDER 

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, Stanley Stein, Inc., License No. R-

AP-SS-OPS-571, shall pay a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) within 20 days of the 

mailing date of this order.  In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s license 

will be suspended or revoked.  Jurisdiction is retained. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth 

in Liquor Code Section 471.1, pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following 

manner.  The Licensee is directed to contact the Bureau of Alcohol Education, Pennsylvania 

Liquor Control Board (toll free telephone: 1-866-275-8237; www.lcb.state.pa.us) within thirty 

(30) days of the mailing date of this adjudication in order to receive assistance in the compliance 

process.  Licensee must receive certification within ninety (90) days of the mailing date of this 

adjudication.  Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the date such 

certification is issued.  The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement is further directed to monitor 

compliance with this adjudication. 

 

Failure to comply with this order will be grounds for modification of penalty in this case.  

Failure to comply may also constitute grounds for issuance of a new citation as authorized by 

Section 471(d) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. Section 4-471(d). 

 

 

Dated this       23RD            day of ____JULY________, 2009. 

 

  

 
 David L. Shenkle, J. 

jb 

 

NOTICE:  MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN 

WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.  

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

The fine must be paid by treasurer’s check, cashier’s check, certified check or money 

order. Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  

Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:  

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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