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BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on March 16, 2009, by the Bureau of 

Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter Bureau) against Tipple, Inc., 

T/A The Golden Ale, License Number R-AP-SS-1839 (hereinafter Licensee). 

 

The citation charges Licensee with violation of Sections 491(1), 492(2) and 493(16) of the 

Liquor Code [47 P.S. §§§4-491(1), 4-492(2) and 4-493(16)], in that on January 28 and February 5, 2009, 

Licensee, by its servants, agents or employees, sold alcoholic beverages after its Restaurant Liquor 

License expired on June 30, 2008, and had not been renewed and/or validated. 

  

 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on January 28, 2009, and was completed 

on February 5, 2009. The notice of violation letter was mailed to Licensee on February 25, 2009. 

 

An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on June 29, 2010, in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. 

 

 Upon review of the transcript of the hearing and the Pre-Hearing Memorandum, we make the 

following Findings of Fact and reach the following Conclusions of Law: 
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FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

 1.  Licensee is a corporation located in Fayette County, Pennsylvania and holds Restaurant 

Liquor license number R-AP-SS-1839. (N.T. 4).   

 

2.  Licensee’s Restaurant Liquor License expired on June 30, 2008. (N.T. 6, Exhibit C-4). 

 

 3.  On Wednesday, January 28, 2009, at approximately 2:45 p.m., two enforcement officers 

visited the licensed premises and found a barmaid rendering service of alcoholic beverages to 

approximately nine patrons. (N.T. 8-9). 

 

 4.  On Thursday, February 5, 2009, at 12:10 p.m., an enforcement officer spoke with the Board’s 

licensing office and found that the license renewal was rejected due to the lack of a filing fee. (N.T. 9-

10). 

 

 5.  On Thursday, February 5, 2009, at approximately 2:20 p.m., the enforcement officer returned 

to the licensed premises in an undercover capacity and purchased a 12-ounce bottle of Miller Lite beer 

from the barmaid for $2.00. (N.T. 10). 

 

  6.  The officer identified himself and informed the barmaid that the license was inactive and 

Licensee had no authority to sell alcoholic beverages. (N.T. 10). 

 

   

CONCLUSION OF LAW: 

 

Sustained as charged. 

 

 

DISCUSSION: 

 

 At the hearing held on the matter, the enforcement officer testified as to his visiting the licensed 

premises on Janury 28 and February 5, 2009, and observing alcoholic beverage sales after its Restaurant 

Liquor License had expired and was not renewed. 

 

 Licensee did not appear at the hearing although a notice of hearing was mailed to the address of 

record. 

 

 I find the testimony of the Bureau’s witness to be credible.  As such, the citation is sustained. 

 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

Licensee has been licensed since July 12, 2004, and has no violations. 
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PENALTY: 

 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license suspension or 

revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for a violation of the type 

found in this case. 

 

After due consideration of the circumstances giving rise to the citation and Licensee’s status as a 

first time offender, a fine of $1,100.00 will be imposed as the penalty in this case. 

 

ORDER: 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee, Tipple, Inc., T/A The Golden Ale, pay a fine 

of $1,100.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is 

not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or 

revoked. 

  

JURISDICTION IS RETAINED UNTIL CASE IS CLOSED. 

 

 

Dated this     20TH            day of       JULY               , 2010. 

              

               
                  Robert F. Skwaryk, J. 

 

 MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN  15 DAYS OF 

THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE. A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR 

RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE. 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

 The fine must be paid by Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order.  Personal and 

business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Please make your guaranteed check 

payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661  

 

09-0531 

Tipple, Inc. 

T/A The Golden Ale 


