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OPINION

B & G V Realty Inc. t/a Vento’s (“Licensee”) appealed from the
(Second) Supplemental Order of Administrative Law Judge Felix Thau
(“ALJ”), wherein the AL] revoked Licensee’s liquor license.

Citation No. 09-0657 contained two (2) counts. The first count of

the citation charged that on January 3, 4, and February 1 and 28, 2009,



Licensee, by its servants, agents or employees violated section 471 of the
Liguor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471] and section 637.6(a)(2) of the Clean
Indoor Air Act (“CIAA”) [35P.S. § 637.6(a)(2)] by permitting smoking in
a public place where smoking is prohibited.

The second count of the citation charged that on February 1 and 28,
2009, Licensee, by its servants, agents, or employees violated section 471
of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471] and section 637.6(a)(1) of the CIAA
[35P.S. § 637(a)(1)], by failing to post signage as required by the CIAA.

In response to the citation, Licensee submitted a waiver on July 27,
2009, admitting the charges and authorizing the AL] to issue a penalty.'
(Admin. Notice). On August 11, 2009, the AL] mailed an Adjudication
and Order, sustaining the citation and imposing a two hundred dollar
($200.00) fine, to be paid within twenty (20) days. (Admin. Notice).

On September 21, 2009, the fine having not been paid, the AL]
mailed an Opinion and Order Upon Licensee’s Failure to Pay a Fine,
imposing a one (1)-day suspension to continue thereafter until the fine was

paid. (Admin. Notice). The Order further stated that, if the fine remained

! Because Licensee appeals from a subsequent Order and not the initial Order and Adjudication of the ALJ, its
waiver is not at issue herein.



unpaid after sixty (60) days, the suspension would be reevaluated and
revocation of the license would be considered. (Admin. Notice).

On December 7, 2009, the AL] mailed a (Second) Supplemental
Opinion and Order acknowledging that the sixty (60)-day period had
elapsed, and that Licensee failed to pay the fine. (Admin. Notice).
Accordingly, the AL] vacated his previous Order and ordered revocation of
the license effective January 25, 2010. (Admin. Notice).2

On February 19, 2010, Filomena Vento, Licensee’s corporate
president, filed an untimely appeal to the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board
(“Board”), stating that the AL]’s decision to revoke the license was too harsh
a penalty and that Licensee’s failure to pay the fine was inadvertent and
unintentional. Licensee further stated that it has, since that time, paid the
fine and the license has remained in safekeeping throughout the relevant time
period. In addition, it is Licensee’s intention to continue to actively seek a
buyer for the subject liquor license.

Pursuant to section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471], the
appeal in this case must be based solely on the record before the AL]. The

Board shall only reverse the decision of the AL] if the AL] committed an

% The Board takes administrative notice that the fine of two hundred dollars ($200.00) was paid on February 19,
2010.



error of law or abused his/her discretion, or if his/her decision was not based
upon substantial evidence. The Commonwealth Court defined "substantial
evidence" to be such relevant evidence as a reasonable person might accept as

adequate to support a conclusion. Joy Global, Inc. v. Workers'

Compensation Appeal Bd. (Hogue), 876 A.2d 1098 (Pa. Cmwlith. 2005);

Chapman v. Pennsylvania Bd. of Probation and Parole, 86 Pa. Cmwlith. 49,

484 A.2d 413 (1984).

Consideration of the merits of Licensee’s appeal is unnecessary because
the appeal was untimely. Section 17.21(c) of the Board’s Regulations [40
Pa. Code § 17.21(c)] sets forth that appeals from decisions of the AL] shall
be filed or postmarked within thirty (30) calendar days of the mailing date of
the adjudication of the AL]. The December 7, 2009 Supplemental Opinion
and Order of the AL] sets forth the final adjudication as automatic
revocation, Licensee had up to thirty (30) days after the December 7, 2009
date to file a timely appeal with the Board.

The thirty (30)-day filing deadline for an appeal from the ALJ’s

Supplemental Opinion and Order, pursuant to section 471 of the Liquor



Code [47 P.S. § 4-471], was January 6, 2010. Accordingly, Licensee’s

appeal was forty-five (45) days late and must be dismissed.?

% Even if the Board were able to consider this appeal, it would not find an abuse of discretion in the penalty set by
the ALJ. The Board’s review of penalties imposed by the ALJ is limited to determining whether the penalty
imposed is within the parameters set forth in section 471 of the Liquor Code. [47 P.S. 8 4-471]. Under section 471
of the Liquor Code, the Board has no authority to alter a penalty if it is within the statutory guidelines of the Liquor
Code. In this case, the penalty in question, issued by the ALJ in response to Licensee’s failure to pay the fine within
sixty (60) days from the mailing date of the Supplemental Order of the ALJ, falls within the parameters of section
471 of the Liquor Code. Specifically, the ALJ is authorized to suspend or revoke a license or impose a fine ranging
from fifty dollars ($50.00) to one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) based upon the violations alleged in this citation.
Moreover, section 471 further provides that “[i]n the event the fine is not paid within twenty days of the
adjudication, the administrative law judge shall suspend or revoke the license.” [Id.]. The penalty imposed by the
ALJ in his Second Supplemental Order regarding Licensee’s failure to pay its fine is certainly within the parameters
set forth in section 471.



ORDER

The decision of the AL] is affirmed.

The appeal of Licensee is dismissed.

The fine of two hundred dollars ($200.00) has been paid.

It is hereby ordered that Licensee’s Restaurant Liquor License No. R-
13088 remains revoked as of January 25, 2010.

Licensee must adhere to the conditions set forth in the AL]’s Order

dated December 7, 2009.

Board Secretary



