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ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on July 8, 2009, by the Bureau of
Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against Kildares
Scranton, Inc., t/a Kildares Irish Pub (Licensee), License Number R-AP-SS-16304.

The citation! charges Licensee with a violation of Sections 406(a)(3) and 84-493(16) of
the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 84-406(a)(3) and 84-493(16)]. The charge is that on June 7, 2009,
Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, sold, furnished and/or gave alcoholic beverages on
Sunday between 2:00 A.M. and 11:00 A.M.

An evidentiary hearing was conducted on December 10, 2009 atthe Scranton State
Office Building, PUC Hearing Room 318, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania.
Licensee’s Counsel was not present. Rather, he participated in the hearing via a telephone
conference arrangement. Counsel for Licensee agreed to permit service electronically, via e-mail.
(N.T. 21-22)

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2, 09-1630, N.T. 19.
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After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law are entered.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. The Bureau began its investigation on May 7, 2009 and completed it onJune 7,
2009. (N.T. 25)

2. The Bureau sent a notice of an alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed
premises by certified mail-return receipt requested onJune 23, 2009. The notice alleged a
violation as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, 09-1630, N.T. 19)

3. On Jure 7, 2009, a Bureau Enforcement Officer entered the premises in an
undercover capacity at 10:05 a.m. and observed four patrons. The Officer ordered and was
served a Bloody Mary at 10:25 a.m. (N.T. 26-27)

4. The Officer drank the mixed drink. The Officer felt the effects of the alcohol
several minutes after she first consumed some of it. (N.T. 28-30)

5. After the General Manager discovered the offense, Licensee began operating at
11:00 a.m. rather than 10:00 a.m. Licensee was aware that even though Licensee could open for
food at 10:00 a.m., no alcoholic beverages were to be served until 11:00 a.m. That rule did not
trickle down to the staff. Since this incident, Licensee has notified staff of the lawful hours of
selling alcoholic beverages. (N.T. 33-34)

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been
satisfied.

2. The citation is sustained as charged.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since March 10, 2009, and has had no prior violations.
PENALTY:
Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 84-471] prescribes a penalty of license

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for
violations of the type found in this case.
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As this incident results from an error on the part of the staff, 1 impose the minimum fine
of $1,000.00.

ORDER:
Imposition of Fine

THEREFORE, itis hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $1,000.00 within 20 days
of the mailing date of this Order. In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days
from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked.
Retaining Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication.
Dated this _11™ day of January, 2010.

Felix Thau, A.L.J.

pm

NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON
UNLESS THEY ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING
DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment

The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, certified check or money order. Personal and
business checks, are not acceptable unless bank certified. Please make your guaranteed
check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661
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