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OPINION

Hume McNeal Byers AmVets Post 224 Home Association

(“Licensee”) appeals from the Opinion and Order Upon Remand from the

1



Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (“Board”) of Administrative Law Judge
Felix Thau (“AL}”), mailed January 25, 2011, wherein the AL], in
accordance with the Board’s Opinion and Order mailed January 12, 2011,
entered an additional finding of fact and conclusion of law sustaining the
second count of the Citation and imposing a penalty consisting of a fine of
one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) and a sixty (60)-day license suspension.'

The second count of the Citation charged that during the periods
February 8 through February 14, March 15 through March 21, April 19
through April 25, May 24 through May 30, and June 14 through June 20,
2009, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employees, violated sections 471
of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471] and section 315(b) of the Local
Option Small Games of Chance (“LOSGCA”) [10 P.S. § 315(b)], by
offering and/or awarding more than five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) in
cash or merchandise in any seven (7)-day period.

Pursuant to section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471], the
appeal in this case must be based solely on the record before the AL]. The

Board shall only reverse the decision of the AL] if the AL] committed an

! Licensee’s appeal to the Board’s Opinion mailed January 12, 2011, is currently pending before the
Franklin County Court of Common Pleas.



error of law or abused his discretion, or if his decision was not based upon
substantial evidence. @~ The Commonwealth Court defined “substantial
evidence” to be such relevant evidence as a reasonable person might accept as

adequate to support a conclusion. Joy Global, Inc. v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Bd. (Hogue), 876 A.2d 1098 (Pa. Cmwith. 2005);

Chapman v. Pennsylvania Bd. of Probation and Parole, 86 Pa. Cmwith. 49,

484 A.2d 413 (1984).

A hearing was held on Citation No. 09-2152 on September 23,
2010. At the hearing, Licensee was represented by counsel. By Order
mailed October 22, 2010, the AL] sustained the first and third counts and
dismissed the second and fourth counts. The AL] imposed an aggregate fine
of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) and a one hundred twenty (120)-day
suspension. Licensee timely appealed the AL] Order mailed October 22,
2010, as to Counts 1 and 3. The Bureau filed a cross-appeal from the same
Order, as to Counts 2 and 4. By Order mailed January 12, 2011, the
Board remanded the case to the AL] for an imposition of penalty as to the
second count. By Order mailed January 25, 2011, the AL] sustained the
second count and imposed a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) and a

sixty (60)-day suspension.



In the instant appeal, Licensee challenges only the imposition of penalty
imposed by the AL] on the second count of the Citation. Therefore, only
the penalty for the second count of the Citation, as issued in the AL]J’s
Opinion and Order Upon Remand from the Pennsylvania Liquor Control
Board, will be addressed.?

Licensee argues that the one thousand dollar ($1,000.00) fine and the
sixty (60)-day suspension was excessively harsh. The imposition of penalties
is the exclusive prerogative of the AL]. The Board may not disturb penalties
that are within the parameters set forth in section 471(b) of the Liquor
Code. [47 P.S. § 4-471(b)]. Section 471(b) specifically prescribes a
penalty of license suspension or revocation or a fine of fifty dollars ($50.00)
to one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), or both, for the second count. The
statute does not set an upper limit to the number of days a license can be
suspended. Thus, the one thousand dollar ($1,000.00) fine and the sixty

(60)-day suspension are clearly permissible and well within the scope of

2 Contemporaneous with its present appeal, Licensee filed an Application for Supersedeas. This application
was unnecessary because Licensee was not charged with a violation that was subject to an enhanced penalty.
The filing of the appeal acts as a supersedeas or stay of the AL)’s Order, without the need to file an
Application for Supersedeas. [47 P.S. § 4-471(b)].



section 471(b). Accordingly, the Board finds that the penalty was not

excessive and the AL]’s decision is affirmed.



ORDER

The decision of the AL] is affirmed.

Licensee’s appeal is dismissed.

The fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) on Count 2 has been
paid.

The case is hereby remanded to the AL] to ensure compliance with this

Order and to impose new dates for the suspension(s).

Board Secretary



