
Mailing Date: NOV 03 2010 

 

 

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE 

FOR 

PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD 

 

PENNSYLVANIA STATE 

POLICE, BUREAU OF 

LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT 

: 

: 

: 

 

Citation No. 09-2568 

 

v. 

 

: 

: 

: 

Incident No. W03-401643  

 

LID - 60159 

NEWPORT TAVERN, LLC 

T/A NEWPORT TAVERN 

726 N. 4TH ST. 

NEWPORT, PA 17074-7214 

 

 

PERRY COUNTY 

LICENSE NO. R-AP-SS-19250 

: 

: 

: 

: 

: 

: 

: 

: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BEFORE JUDGE FLAHERTY 

BUREAU COUNSEL BALLARON 

LICENSEE: SCOTT SPRUCEBANK, PRO SE 

 

   

ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on November 5, 2009, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) 

against NEWPORT TAVERN, LLC, License Number R-AP-SS-19250 (hereinafter “Licensee”). 

 

 The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 

§4-471] and Section 637.6(a)(2) of the Clean Indoor Air Act [35 P.S. §637.6(a)(2)] in that on 

October 3 and 4, 2009, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, permitted smoking in a 

public place where smoking is prohibited. 

 

 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on October 3, 2009 and was 

completed on October 19, 2009; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified 

Mail on October 27, 2009.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on August 31, 2010 in the Office of 

Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, 

Pennsylvania. 
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 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

 1. As of November 3, 2009, Licensee had not been granted an exemption by the 

Pennsylvania Department of Health pursuant to the Pennsylvania Clean Indoor Air Act to permit 

smoking in the establishment (N.T. Exhibit C-3). 

 

 2. On October 3, 2009 at 11:10 p.m. two officers of the Bureau entered the licensed 

premises (N.T. 9). 

 

 3. Upon entering the premises the officer observed that there was no signage with 

regard to smoking (N.T. 9-10). 

 

 4. While on the licensed premises, the officer observed patrons openly smoking.  

They also observed ashtrays across the bar and on the separate tables (N.T. 10). 

 

 5. The officers observed approximately 20-25 patrons who were smoking.  The 

bartender was also smoking (N.T. 10). 

 

 6. Licensee’s personnel took no actions to prohibit smoking on the licensed premises 

(N.T. 10). 

 

 7. The officers exited the licensed premises at 12:20 a.m. on October 4, 2009 (N.T. 

10-11). 

 

CONCLUSION OF LAW: 

 

  The charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since June 26, 2008, and has had no prior violations.  

Licensee is, therefore, entitled to be treated as a first time offender. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be a fine of $100.00. 
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ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee NEWPORT TAVERN, LLC, pay a fine 

of $100.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine 

is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be 

suspended or revoked. 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained pending final resolution of the penalty in this matter. 

 

Dated this   18TH       day of October, 2010. 

 

 

 

        
        Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J. 

an 

 

 

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY 

ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, 

ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.   

 

Detach here and submit stub with payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 The fine must be paid by Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order.  Personal 

and business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Make guaranteed check 

payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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