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ADJUDICATION 

 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

  This proceeding arises out of a citation, containing two counts, that was issued 

on January 28, 2010, by the Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State 

Police (Bureau) against 3745 Enterprises, Inc. (Licensee). 

 

 The first count charges Licensee with violations of Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-471]   and  Section  637.6(a)(2) of  the  Clean  Indoor  Act   [35 P.S. §637.6(a)(2)].    The   
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charge is that Licensee, by your servants, agents, or employees, permitted smoking in a public 

place where smoking was prohibited, on November 21, 23 and 30, 2009. 

 

The second count charges Licensee with violations of Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-471] and Section 637.6(a)(1) of the Clean Indoor Act  [35 P.S. §637.6(a)(1)].  The 

charge is that Licensee, by your servants, agents, or employees, failed to post signage as required 

by the Clean Indoor Air Act, on November 21, 23 and 30, 2009. 

  

 I presided at an evidentiary hearing on October 5, 2011 at the Brandywine Plaza, 2221 

Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. 

 

Therefore, I make the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Bureau began its investigation on November 19, 2009 and completed it 

on December 15, 2009.  (N.T. 21) 

 

 2. The Bureau sent a notice of the alleged violations to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail, return receipt requested on, January 14, 2010.  The notice alleged 

violations as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 18) 

 

Count Nos. 1 and 2 

 

 3. The Pennsylvania Department of Health did not issue an exception allowing 

Licensee to permit smoking on the licensed premises during the dates charged. (Commonwealth 

Exhibit C-5) 

 

 4. On the dates charged, a Bureau Enforcement Officer conducted undercover visits 

to the premises.  There were no signs outside or inside the premises indicating whether smoking 

was or was not permitted.  Licensee allowed patrons to smoke.  (N.T. 23-26) 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. Sustained as charged. 
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DISCUSSION: 

 

 Licensee argued there was an exemption in place to allow smoking on the premises.  I 

kept the record open to allow Licensee to submit a certification from the Department of Health 

demonstrating that Licensee did have an exemption on the dates charged.  Having received 

nothing from Licensee, I close the record. 

 

ADJUDICATION HISTORY: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since July 21, 2003, and has the following Adjudication 

history:  

 

 Docket No. 06-2284C.  Fine $1,250.00 and R.A.M.P. training mandated. 

  Sales to a minor. 

  August 11, 2006. 

 

 Docket No. 07-2988.  Fine $200.00 

Sold malt or brewed beverages in excess of 192 fluid ounces for consumption off 

premises. 

September 27, 2007. 

   

PENALTY ASSESSMENT CRITERIA: 

 

Mandatory Requirement(s) 

 

  Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension, or revocation, or a fine of not less than $50 or more than $1,000.00, or both for the 

violations found herein. 

 

Discretionary Component(s) 

 

I impose the following: 

   

Count No. 1  -  $150.00 fine. 

 

Count No. 2  -  $150.00 fine. 
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ORDER: 

 

Fine Imposition 

 

 Licensee must pay a $300.00 fine within 20 days of the mailing date of this Adjudication. 

The mailing date is located on this Adjudication’s first page, upper left corner.  If Licensee fails 

to comply, the Liquor Code requires that I suspend or revoke the license.  

 

Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this   10TH         day of February, 2012. 

  

 
Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

bc 

 

 

 

General Information 

 

This Adjudication is a legal document.  The information which follows is a general guide.  

Therefore, you may want to consult with an attorney.   

 

 

Applying for Reconsideration 

 

 If you want the Administrative Law Judge to reconsider this Adjudication, you must 

submit a written application and a nonrefundable $25.00 filing fee.  Both must be received by the 

Office of Administrative Law Judge, (PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine 

Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661) within fifteen days of this 

Adjudication’s mailing date.  Your application must describe the reasons for reconsideration.  

The full requirements for reconsideration can be found in Title 1 Pa. Code §35.241. 
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Appeal Rights 

 

If you wish to appeal this Adjudication, you must file an appeal within thirty days of the 

mailing date of this Adjudication by contacting the Office of Chief Counsel of the Pennsylvania 

Liquor Control Board (717-783-9454).  For further information, visit www.lcb.state.pa.us.  The 

full requirements for an appeal can be found in 47 P.S. §4-471. 

 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

 The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, certified check or money order.  Personal and 

business checks, are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Please make your guaranteed 

check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661 
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