
Mailing Date: SEP 10 2010 

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE 

FOR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD 

 

PENNSYLVANIA STATE 

POLICE, BUREAU OF 

LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT 

: 

: 

: 

 

Citation No. 10-0646 

 

v. 

 

: 

: 

: 

Incident No. W01-406270  

 

LID - 45318 

GIZMO INC 

T/A GARY’S DEN 

25 E BROADWAY AVE 

CLIFTON HEIGHTS  PA  19018-2305 

 

DELAWARE COUNTY 

LICENSE NO. R-AP-SS-660 

: 

: 

: 

: 

: 

: 

: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

JUDGE SHENKLE 

BLCE COUNSEL:  Erik S. Shmukler, Esq. 

LICENSEE COUNSEL:  no appearance 

 

 

ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this 

citation on April 6, 2010.  The citation alleges that Licensee violated §437 of the Liquor Code, 47 

P.S. §4-437, and §5.41 of the Liquor Control Board Regulations, 40 Pa. Code §5.41, on January 21, 

February 5 and 6, 2010, by operating the licensed premises without a valid health permit or license, 

which expired on December 31, 2009. 

At the hearing scheduled for July 22, 2010, in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, there was 

no appearance for the Licensee; therefore, the matter was heard ex parte. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT:      

1.  The Bureau investigated Licensee during the period January 6 through February 24, 

2010, and gave it written notice of the results on March 19,  2010 (N.T. 9-10, Exhibit B-1). 

2.  A copy of this citation was served on Licensee (N.T. 10-11, Exhibit B-2). 

3.  A Notice of Hearing was mailed to Licensee on May 26, 2010. 
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4.  On January 21, 2010, a liquor enforcement officer visited the licensed premises and 

purchased beer.  On February 5, 2010, the officer entered the premises at 10:35 p.m. and purchased 

a malt beverage.  There were other customers purchasing and consuming alcoholic beverages from 

that time until 12:40 a.m. on February 6, 2010, when the officer left the premises (N.T. 5-9). 

5.  Licensee’s health permit had expired on December 31, 2009, and it operated without a 

permit from that time until at least February 10, 2010 (Exhibit B-3). 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Sustained as charged. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

Licensee has been licensed since January 5, 2000, and has had prior violations as follows: 

Citation No. 04-0324.  $1,000.00 fine. 

1. Minor frequenting.  November 23, 2003. 

2. Sales to a minor.  November 23, 2003. 

 

Citation No. 09-2466.  $1,000.00 fine. 

 1. Sold alcoholic beverages after license expired.  August 25, 2009. 

 

PENALTY: 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, prescribes a penalty of license suspension 

or revocation or a fine in the $50.00 to $1,000.00 range, or both, for violations of this type. 
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ORDER 

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, Gizmo, Inc., t/a Gary’s Den, License 

No. R-AP-SS-660, shall pay a fine of four hundred dollars ($400.00) within 20 days of the mailing 

date of this order.  In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s license will be 

suspended or revoked.   

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall, within 20 days of the mailing date of this 

order, submit a copy of a valid and current health permit.  If Licensee fails to submit the health 

permit within the time allowed, the penalty in this case will be modified to include a suspension of 

license, and for that purpose jurisdiction is retained. 

 

 

Dated this    2ND               day of        September                , 2010. 

 

  

 
   David L. Shenkle, J. 

jb 

 

 

 

NOTICE:  MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN 

WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.  

 

 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, certified check or money order.  Personal and 

business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Please make your guaranteed check 

payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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