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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on April 12, 2010, by the Bureau 

of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against The Philips 

Hotel, LLC (Licensee), License Number H-AP-SS-EHF-6163. 

 

  The citation1 charges Licensee with a violation of Sections 406(a)(3) and 493(16) of 

the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-406(a)(3) and §4-493(16)].  The charge is that on March 14, 2010, 

Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, sold, furnished and/or gave alcoholic beverages on 

Sunday between 2:00 A.M. and 11:00 A.M. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on September 14, 2010 at the Hampton Inn, 180 

Charlotte Drive, Altoona, Pennsylvania. 

 

 

                      

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2. 
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 After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law are entered. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Bureau began and completed its investigation on March 14, 2010.  (N.T. 18) 

 

 2. The Bureau sent a notice of an alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail-return receipt requested on March 30, 2010.  The notice alleged a 

violation as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 16) 

 

 3. A Bureau Enforcement Officer arrived at the premises on March 14, 2010 at 

8:35 a.m., a Sunday.  The Officer entered the restaurant portion of the premises.  There were no 

patrons present.  The Officer was the only “patron” present as he was in an undercover capacity.  

At 8:43 a.m., a server identified himself to the Officer and asked if he could help him.  The 

Officer requested a beer.  The server provided the Officer the beer.  (N.T. 19-21) 

(Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-3) 

 

 4. There has been ongoing construction.  The premises does not open to the public 

until later in the morning.  It is Licensee’s practice to provide breakfast to guests registered at the 

hotel, for free.  (N.T. 27-28) 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The citation is sustained as charged. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since March 13, 2009, and has had no prior violations. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Given the mitigating factors, I will adopt the Bureau’s recommendation of a $1,000.00 

fine. 
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ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Fine 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $1,000.00 within 20 days 

of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days 

from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked. 

 

Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this      15TH      day of October, 2010. 

  

 
Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

pm 

 

NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON 

UNLESS THEY ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING 

DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE. 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

 The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, certified check or money order.  Personal and 

business checks, are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Please make your guaranteed 

check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661 
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