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ADJUDICATION 

BACKGROUND: 

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this 

citation on July 27, 2010.  There are three counts in the citation. 

The first count alleges that Licensee violated §§406(a)(2) and 493(16) of the Liquor Code, 

47 P.S. §§4-406(a)(2) and 4-493(16), on June 19, 2010, by selling, furnishing and/or giving 

alcoholic beverages between 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m. 

The second count alleges that Licensee violated §499(a) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-

499(a), on July 19, 2010, by failing to require patrons to vacate that part of the premises habitually 

used for the service of alcoholic beverages not later than one-half hour after the required time for 

the cessation of the service of alcoholic beverages. 

The third count alleges that Licensee violated §499(a) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-

499(a), on July 19, 2010, by permitting patrons to possess and/or remove alcoholic beverages from 

that part of the premises habitually used for the service of alcoholic beverages after 2:30 a.m. 

At the hearing scheduled for December 8, 2010, in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, there 

was no appearance for the Licensee; therefore, the case was heard ex parte. 

FINDINGS OF FACT:      

1.  The Bureau investigated Licensee during the period June 5 through June 20, 2010, and 

sent it written notice of the results on July 6, 2010 (N.T. 11-12, Exhibit B-1). 
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2.  A copy of this citation was mailed to Licensee on July 27, 2010  (N.T., 11-12 Ex. B-2). 

3.  A Notice of Hearing was mailed to Licensee on October 28, 2010. 

4.  On June 19, 2010, liquor enforcement officers visited the licensed premises at about 

12:10 a.m.  One bartender was serving about seven patrons, but more patrons and another bartender 

entered as the night wore on.  A band was playing when the officers entered, but it stopped 

performing at 1:45 a.m.  At 2:00 a.m. there were about twenty patrons.  At 2:08 a.m. a bartender 

served a pint of draft beer to a patron and collected money for it.  At 2:10 a.m. a bartender sold a 

six-pack of beer to another patron, and deposited the money in a cash register (N.T. 5-8). 

5.  At 2:12 a.m. a bartender sold a six-pack of malt liquor to another patron.  A 2:22 a.m. a 

liquor enforcement officer purchased a six-pack of beer from a bartender, who collected $7 and put 

the beer in a bag.  She then announced that it was time to go, time to leave.  When the officers left 

at 2:30 a.m. there were still five patrons in possession of beer and playing pool (N.T. 8-9). 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Sustained as charged. 

PRIOR RECORD: 

Licensee has been licensed since July 2, 2002, and has had prior violations as follows: 

Citation No. 03-0848.  $1,400.00 fine. 

1. Sold more than 192 fluid ounces of malt or brewed beverages in a single sale to one 

person for consumption off premises.  March 22, 2003. 

2. Sales between 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m.  March 22, 2003. 

3. Failed to require patrons to vacate by the required time.  March 22, 2003. 

4. Permitted patrons to possess alcoholic beverages after 2:30 a.m.  March 22, 2003. 

Citation No. 04-1319.  $400.00 fine. 

1. Gambling (numbers bets).  April 7, 2004. 

Citation No. 08-1785X.  $100.00 fine. 

 1. Bad checks for malt or brewed beverages.  May 23, 2008. 

PENALTY: 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, prescribes a penalty of license suspension 

or revocation or a fine, or both, for violations of the type found in this case.  For violations of the 

type found in the first count any fine must be in the $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 range.  For violations of 

the type found in the second and third counts any fine must be in the $50.00 to $1,000.00 range.  

Penalties are assessed as follows: 

Count 1 – a fine of $1,500.00. 

Count 2 – a fine of $300.00. 

Count 3 – a fine of $300.00.  
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ORDER 

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, Shannon I, Inc., License No. R-AP-

SS-11165, shall pay a fine of two thousand one hundred dollars ($2,100.00) within 20 days of the 

mailing date of this order.  In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s license will 

be suspended or revoked.  Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

Dated this     19TH              day of     January                   , 2011. 

 

  

 
    David L. Shenkle, J. 

jb 

 

 

 

 

NOTICE:  MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN 

WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, certified check or money order.  Personal and 

business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Please make your guaranteed check 

payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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