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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on August 4, 2010, by the Bureau 

of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against Kildares 

Scranton, Inc., t/a Kildares Irish Pub (Licensee), License Number R-AP-SS-16304. 

 

  The citation1 charges Licensee with a violation of Sections 406(a)(3) and 493(16) of 

the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-406(a)(3) and §4-493(16)].  The charge is that on June 27, 2010, 

Licensee, by servants, agents or employes, sold, furnished and/or gave alcoholic beverages on 

Sunday between 2:00 A.M. and 11:00 A.M. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on February 10, 2011 at the Scranton State Office 

Building, PUC Hearing Room 318, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania. 

 

 

                        

1. Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-2, N.T. 8. 
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 After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law are entered. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Bureau began its investigation on June 23, 2010 and completed it on July 1, 

2010.  (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 8) 

 

 2. The Bureau sent a notice of an alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail-return receipt requested on July 12, 2010.  The notice alleged a 

violation as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 8) 

 

 3. On Sunday, June 27, 2010, a Bureau Enforcement Officer conducted a 

surveillance of the premises starting at approximately 10:00 a.m.  At approximately 10:20 a.m., 

the Officer noticed an individual entering the premises.  The Officer entered the premises at 

10:25 a.m.  (N.T. 8-10) 

 

 4. There were two waitresses.  The Officer asked if the premises was open.  The 

response was that it was.  The Officer walked to the bar.  There were four patrons seated at the 

bar.  One patron was eating breakfast while a second patron was drinking a draft beer.  At 10:30 

a.m., the Officer ordered a beer which was served to him by a bartender.  At approximately 

10:45 a.m., the patron who had been consuming a beer ordered a draft beer.  Another individual 

ordered a cider with alcohol in it called “Magners.”  The Officer departed the premises at 11:00 

a.m.  (N.T. 10-14) 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The citation is sustained as charged. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since March 10, 2009, and has had three prior violations 

(Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-3): 

 

 Adjudication No.  09-1630.  Fine $1,000.00. 

   Sales on Sunday between 2:00 A.M. and 11:00 A.M. 

   June 7, 2009. 
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   Adjudication No. 09-1888.  Fine $50.00. 

   Failed to adhere to the conditions of the agreement entered 

   into with the Board placing additional restrictions on the license. 

   June 9 through July 15, 2009. 

 

  Adjudication No. 10-0338.  Fine $250.00. 

   Sold and/or served an unlimited or indefinite amount of 

   alcoholic beverages. 

   February 7, 2010. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 I impose a $1,500.00 fine. 

 

ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Fine 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee pay a fine of $1,500.00 within 20 days 

of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days 

from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked. 

 

Retaining Jurisdiction 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

Dated this      9TH      day of March, 2011. 

  

 
Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

pm 
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NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON 

UNLESS THEY ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING 

DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE. 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

 The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, certified check or money order.  Personal and 

business checks, are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Please make your guaranteed 

check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661 
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