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ADJUDICATION 

BACKGROUND: 

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this 

citation on October 12, 2010.  The citation alleges that Licensee violated §493(1) of the Liquor 

Code, 47 P.S. §4-493(1), on August 26, 2010, by selling, furnishing, and/or giving or permitting 

such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one male minor, nineteen years of age. 

A hearing was held on September 13, 2011, in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania.  The 

parties stipulated to the timely service of the notice letter and citation. 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

At about 9:05 p.m. on August 26, 2010, a young man whose birth date was September 29, 

1990, entered the licensed premises and ordered a bottle of beer from the bartender, who served it to 

him without questioning his age.  The young man paid for the beer and then left the premises 

without touching it.  Outside, he spoke to a liquor enforcement supervisor, who then entered the 

premises and informed the bartender that he had served a minor working with the Bureau under the 

Age Compliance program (N.T. 4-34, Exhibit B-3). 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Sustained as charged. 
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DISCUSSION: 

The findings of fact are based on the testimony of a liquor enforcement officer who entered 

the premises five minutes before the minor and a supervisor who entered immediately after the 

minor left.  The minor himself did not testify, because the Bureau was unable to produce him.  The 

crucial fact – the minor’s date of birth – was supplied by Exhibit B-3, an excerpt of the records of 

the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation. 

This record was received pursuant to 75 Pa. C.S. §6328, which provides: 

 

The department [of transportation] may send to any authorized user by 

electronic transmission any certification of record or abstract of records 

maintained by the department.  Permissible uses shall include, but not be 

limited to, certifications of driving records and motor vehicle records.  The 

department may also certify electronically any documents certified to it 

electronically.  Authorized users include State and local police, district 

attorneys, employees of the department and the Office of Attorney General 

and other persons or entities as determined by the department and listed by 

notice in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.  In any proceeding before the courts or 

administrative bodies of this Commonwealth, documents certified by the 

department under this section and offered into evidence by an authorized user 

shall be admissible into evidence. 

(Emphasis supplied) 

PRIOR RECORD: 

Licensee has been licensed since October 6, 2006, and has had prior violations as follows: 

Citation No. 07-1090.  $300.00 fine. 

1. Operated without a valid health permit.  April 11 and 13, 2007. 

 

Citation No. 08-2131.  $450.00 fine and verification of compliance. 

 1. Operated without a valid health permit.  July 28, 2008.             

Citation No. 09-2675.  $1,250.00 fine. 

1. Loudspeakers could be heard outside.  September 27 and October 11, 2009. 

2. Sales on Sunday between 2:00 a.m. and 11:00 a.m.  September 27, 2009. 

 

Citation No. 10-0337. $1,950 fine, R.A.M.P. – certification and verification mandated. 

1. Sales to minors.  January 8, 2010. 

2. Failed to maintain business records for two years preceding January 8, 2010. 

3. Operated without a valid health permit.  January 8, 2010. 

 

Citation No. 11-0192. $250 fine. 

1. Failed to obtain mandatory R.A.M.P. – certification.  December 3, 2010 – July 8, 2011. 

 



MTG Tavern, Inc. Page 3 

Citation No. 10-2128C 

 

 

PENALTY: 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, prescribes a penalty of license suspension 

or revocation or a fine in the $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 range, or both, for violations of this type.  

Licensee became R.A.M.P. – certified on July 8, 2011, but is not entitled to the reduced penalty 

because of the violation of January 8, 2010. 

Since this is Licensee’s third violation in a four-year period of a provision mentioned in 47 
P.S. §4-471(b), the law requires that the penalty include license suspension or revocation. 

 

ORDER 

THEREFORE it is hereby ORDERED that the Restaurant Liquor License of Licensee, MTG 

Tavern, Inc., License No. R-AP-SS-EHF-3335, shall be suspended for a period of three (3) days 

BEGINNING at 7:00 a.m. on Monday, January 16, 2012, and ENDING at 7:00 a.m. on Thursday, 

January 19, 2012.   

Licensee is directed on Monday, January 16, 2012, at 7:00 a.m. to place the enclosed placard 

of notice of suspension (identified as Form No. PLCB-1925 and as printed with red and black ink) 

in a conspicuous place on the outside of the licensed premises or in a window plainly visible from 

outside the licensed premises and to remove said license from the wall and place it in a secure 

location. 

Licensee is advised if replacement placards are needed for any reason they are available at 

all Pennsylvania Liquor Stores/Wine & Spirits Shoppes. 

The Bureau is directed to visit and monitor the premises for compliance with this order. 

Licensee is authorized on Thursday, January 19, 2012, at 7:00 a.m. to remove the placard of 

suspension and return the license to its original wall location. 

 

Dated this     6TH              day of       OCTOBER                 , 2011. 

  

 

  
   David L. Shenkle, J. 

jb 

 

NOTICE:  MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN 

WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.  

WHETHER OR NOT RECONSIDERATION HAS BEEN REQUESTED, AGGRIEVED PERSONS MAY 

APPEAL TO THE PLCB, NORTHWEST OFFICE BUILDING, HARRISBURG, PA 17124 WITHIN 30 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER.    

THE PLCB CHIEF COUNSEL'S TELEPHONE NUMBER IS 717-783-9454. 


