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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this 

citation on October 19, 2010.  There are two counts in the citation. 

The first count alleges that Licensee violated §471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, and 

§637.6(a)(2) of the Clean Indoor Air Act, 35 P.S. §637.6(a)(2), on September 10, 2010, by 

permitting smoking in a public place where smoking is prohibited. 

 

The second count alleges that Licensee violated §471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, 

and §637.6(a)(1) of the Clean Indoor Air Act, 35 P.S. §637.6(a)(1), on September 10, 2010, by 

failing to post signage as required. 

At the hearing scheduled for February 16, 2011, Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, there was 

no appearance for the Licensee; therefore, the case was heard ex parte. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT:      

1.  The Bureau investigated Licensee during the period August 3 through September 14, 

2010, and sent it written notice of the results on September 24, 2010 (N.T. 10, Exhibit B-1). 

2.  A copy of this citation was mailed to Licensee on October 19, 2010 (N.T. 10, Ex. B-2). 
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3.  A Notice of Hearing was mailed to Licensee on December 30, 2010. 

4.  On September 10, 2010, liquor enforcement officers visited the licensed premises at 7:45 

p.m. and saw several patrons smoking cigarettes, using ashtrays on the bar.  No “no smoking” signs 

were posted.  Licensee was not exempt from the Clean Indoor Air Worker Protection Law on this 

date (N.T. 6-10, Exhibit B-3). 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Licensee violated §471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, on September 10, 2010, by 

permitting smoking in a public place where smoking is prohibited. 

Licensee violated §471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, on September 10, 2010, by 

failing to post signage as required. 

 

DISCUSSION: 

The conclusions of law omit part of the statutory authority cited in the citation because the 

Clean Indoor Air Act does not apply to Philadelphia.  See 35 P.S. §637.11.  The basis for the charge 

in these counts is the authority of an administrative law judge to impose a penalty for “other 

sufficient cause.”  See 47 P.S. §4-471(a). 

 Both the state’s Clean Indoor Air Act and the city’s Clean Indoor Air Worker Protection 

Law prohibit smoking in public places, absent an exemption.  Both require the posting of “no 

smoking” signs.  Licensee was not exempt from the Clean Indoor Air Worker Protection Law on the 

dates mentioned in the findings of fact, and could not be exempt from the Clean Indoor Air Act 

because that act did not apply. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

Licensee has been licensed since November 22, 1983, and has had prior violations since July 

1, 1987, the date of establishment of the Office of Administrative Law Judge, as follows:  

Citation No. 95-0914.  $1,000.00 fine. 

1. Sales to minors. 

2. Minors frequenting. 

 

Citation No. 00-0601.  $500.00 fine. 

1. Loudspeakers could be heard outside.  February 4 and 25, 2000. 

Citation No. 05-1053. $300.00 fine.  

1. Not a bona fide restaurant (insufficient food).  April 27, 2005. 
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Citation No. 05-1856.  $100.00 fine. 

1. Bad checks in payment for malt or brewed beverages.  June 9, 2005. 

 

Citation No. 10-0263.  $200.00 fine. 

 1. Operated without a valid health permit or license.  November 30, 2009. 

PENALTY: 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, prescribes a penalty of license suspension 

or revocation or a fine in the $50.00 to $1,000.00 range, or both, for violations of this type. 

 

ORDER 

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, R. J. H., Inc., License No. R-AP-SS-

OPS-9114, shall pay a fine of two hundred dollars ($200.00) within 20 days of the mailing date of 

this order.  In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s license will be suspended or 

revoked.  Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

 

Dated this      15TH             day of        MARCH                , 2011 

 

  

 

 
   David L. Shenkle, J. 

jb 

 

NOTICE:  MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN 

WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.  

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, certified check or money order.  Personal and 

business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Please make your guaranteed check 

payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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